Wisden

The independent voice of cricket

LIVE SCORES
Big Bash League 2021/22

Watch: ‘No, sorry no!’ – BBL umpire hastily reverses his own decision seconds after raising finger

BBL Oxenford
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

BBL umpire Bruce Oxenford found himself in a tangle after reversing his own decision on the field, moments after he raised his finger to adjudge Perth Scorchers’ Ashton Turner out.

24-year-old Melbourne Stars debutant Xavier Crone must have thought he’d opened his account when a quick bumper to Turner seemed to have carried an edge through to the wicketkeeper, with a quick glance at the umpire seemingly confirming his first BBL wicket. Crone went on to celebrate, but his excitement was short-lived when umpire Oxenford issued an instant clarification, negating his own decision to give Turner a new life.

Replays showed that Oxenford gave the batter out, but instantly shook his head, gesturing with his hands as he said “No, sorry no… not out,” possibly realising that Turner’s intended pull had missed his bat and hit the top of his helmet on the way to the keeper.

Skipper Turner, then on 10, went on to add 17 more in Scorchers’ total of 180-8, with Crone ending wicketless from his two overs.

The bizarre incident isn’t entirely new though. Last September, during the title-deciding County Championship game between Warwickshire and Somerset, the on-field umpire did something similar, raising his finger to adjudge Will Rhodes LBW, only to signal a leg-bye moments later.

Watch Oxenford’s instant U-turn here:

 

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
LEARN MORE
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99

SUBSCRIBE