The independent voice of cricket

Big Bash League 2020/21

Watch: Mitchell Marsh gives the umpire a spray after erroneous caught-behind decision

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Perth Scorchers’ Mitchell Marsh was seen letting out expletives at the umpire after he was wrongfully adjudged caught-behind in the 2020/21 BBL qualifier.

The incident occured in the first innings of the game between Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers. Marsh had just arrived at the crease following Colin Munro’s dismissal, but did not get the chance to give the Scorchers a mid-innings push.

He copped a poor umpiring decision after he tried to flick a wide down the leg-side from left-arm spinner Steven O’Keefe and missed by a fair bit.

The umpire, however, felt that Marsh had edged to the keeper and immediately raised his fingers when the Sixers appealed. A visibly shocked Marsh took his time to walk away, but not before he threw a few words at the official.

Replays later showed that Marsh had indeed missed the ball by a considerable margin.

Watch the incident here:


Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99