The independent voice of cricket

Big Bash League 2020/21

BBL 2020: Melbourne Stars team guide, schedule & squad list – Big Bash League

BBL Melbourne Stars team
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Melbourne Stars finished runners-up in last season’s BBL final – how will they fare this time around? Here’s a look at where the team stands ahead of their campaign beginning on December 11, 2020.

The Stars are the BBL bridesmaids; they have finished runners-up on three occasions – twice in the last two years. In 2019, they looked set to defeat Melbourne Renegades in the final before an almighty collapse of seven wickets for just 19 runs in the space of five overs. Earlier this year, after topping the table in the regular season, they lost out to Sydney Sixers in a rain-affected final.

Melbourne Stars BBL team preview

The ECB calling Jonny Bairstow back is a heavy blow; the England white-ball superstar was set to feature in the league for the first time and on the back of his masterful 48-ball 86 not out against South Africa. Still, with names like Maxwell, Stoinis, Zampa and Pooran in their ranks, you can understand why the Stars are favourites to win the whole thing.

Melbourne Stars squad list

Glenn Maxwell (c), Hilton Cartwright, Jackson Coleman, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Dunk, Andre Fletcher, Seb Gotch, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Dilbar Hussain, Zahir Khan, Nick Larkin, Nic Maddinson, Lance Morris, Tom O’Connell, Nicholas Pooran, Will Pucovski, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Key domestic player: Glenn Maxwell

After a miserable IPL campaign in which he failed to hit a single six, Glenn Maxwell has returned to form on home soil, striking a pair of rapid half-centuries for Australia in the recent ODI series against India.

Key overseas player: Nicholas Pooran

Pooran was Maxwell’s in-form teammate at the IPL, with the powerful West Indies left-hander striking his 353 runs for Kings XI Punjab at a strike rate of 170. No overseas player hit as many sixes in the tournament.

Melbourne Stars BBL schedule

Dec 11, 2020, Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat, Manuka Oval

Dec 12, 2020, Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder, Manuka Oval

Dec 16, 2020, Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars, University of Tasmania Stadium

Dec 26, 2020, Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars, Metricon Stadium

Dec 29, 2020, Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars, Manuka Oval

Jan 2, 2021, Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Stars, Blundstone Arena

Jan 4, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes, Blundstone Arena

Jan 7, 2021, Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars, Metricon Stadium

Jan 11, 2021, Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Oval

Jan 15, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers, MCG

Jan 17, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades, MCG

Jan 20, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars, Marvel Stadium

Jan 23, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers, MCG

Jan 26, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers, MCG

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99