The independent voice of cricket

Abu Dhabi T10 League

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021: List of Indian players in the T10 League

T10 League Indian
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Five Indian players are featuring in the fourth edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League – here’s all you need to know about them.

The unique concept of T10 cricket has attracted cricketers from all parts of the world over the last three years, especially those with limited chances in domestic cricket, or those at the end of their professional career, who tend to rely on such leagues to be attached to the game.

The participation of Indian players is a rarity in overseas franchise leagues, if at all. With strict rules in place, only retired cricketers with a no-objection certificate from the BCCI end up featuring in such tournaments.

The upcoming edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League, featuring some of the biggest names in world cricket, is set to begin later this month. In the past, prominent India names such as Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan have been part of the T10 league.

The following five Indian players are set to be part of the fourth edition of the tournament:

Pravin Tambe (Maratha Arabians)

Tambe has had one of the most unusual career paths you’d come across. The leg-spinner turns 50 this year, but his enthusiasm for professional cricket doesn’t seem to have dimmed. A late bloomer, he actually made it to the senior level only in 2013, during the now-defunct Champions League T20, where he represented Rajasthan Royals. Before that, he had spent decades toiling in Mumbai club cricket.

Since then, Tambe has featured in first-class cricket, in the IPL for the Royals and Gujarat Lions, and the Caribbean Premier League, along with the 2018 T10 League. Disqualified from the IPL 2020 auction due to his participation in overseas leagues, Tambe now features exclusively in cricket outside India.

Ishan Malhotra (Maratha Arabians)

The pace-bowling all-rounder made his first-class debut for Punjab back in 2002 as a 17-year-old but played just nine games over the next four and a half years. In 2008, he joined the rebel ICL tournament, playing two seasons, before he returned to the domestic fold after accepting amnesty from BCCI. After warming the benches for Mumbai Indians in 2010, he made his IPL debut in 2011 for Deccan Chargers under the captaincy of Kumar Sangakkara but faded away soon after. He hasn’t played a T20 game since 2012.

Prashant Gupta (Deccan Gladiators)

Prashant has a reasonably decent resume in domestic cricket, having featured in 21 first-class matches, 26 List A games and 37 T20s. In 2014, he scored a 58-ball century during the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and played a stellar role in Uttar Pradesh’s victorious campaign in the tournament the following season.

In 2019, he reportedly announced his retirement from domestic cricket to participate in overseas leagues, and was picked by Deccan Gladiators.

Imtiyaz Ahamad (Deccan Gladiators)

Joining Prashant at the Gladiator will be his former Uttar Pradesh teammate, medium-pace bowler Imtiyaz Ahamad. Both Prashant and Imitiyaz walked away from domestic cricket at the same time, seeking NOC from BCCI for the next phase of their career.

Imtiyaz featured in 45 first-class games for UP, picking 138 wickets @31.00. He was picked to play for Chennai Super Kings and Pune Warriors India but never ended up playing an IPL game. He played his last T20 game in 2017.

Sujeet Parbatani (Northern Warriors)

29-year-old Sujeet Parbatani is an all-rounder who bowls left-arm spin and featured in three List A games in the Dhaka Premier Division in 2013. Born in Punjab, he’s played for the Hyderabad U-22s in 2013 but hasn’t played a competitive game that year. He was part of Kolkata Knight Riders’ developmental squad from 2010-2014 and runs a cricket academy in Hyderabad.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99