The independent voice of cricket


ECB announce men’s central contracts for 2020/21 season

ECB contracts
by Wisden Staff 2-minute read

The England and Wales Cricket Board [ ECB ] have announced their central contracts for the men’s 2020/21 season, awarding 12 Test and as many ODI contracts.

Along with the main contracts, they also awarded four incremental and three pace bowling development contracts – all covering a 12-month period starting October 1, 2020.

Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope and Dom Sibley were awarded a Test central contract for the first time, while Tom Curran has secured an ODI contract.

Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code WISDEN can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Jonny Bairstow, who endured a tough phase in red-ball cricket over the last 12 months, has been left out of the list, while Joe Denly failed to make the cut in the white-ball list.

According to an ECB release, players in both formats will receive a ranking, which will correlate with the level of their remuneration. The rankings will be based on their on-field performances, as well as “other factors”, which will include off-field contribution, fielding and fitness.

“In light of the impact of COVID-19 on the finances of the game,” the statement read, “the Team England Player Partnership, on behalf of the players, and the ECB are currently finalising the levels of player remuneration for the next 12 months. A further statement will be made once these discussions have concluded.”

ECB red ball central contracts

James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

ECB white ball central contracts

Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Eoin Morgan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Increment contracts

Dom Bess, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Jack Leach.

Pace bowling development contracts

Saqib Mahmood, Craig Overton, Olly Stone.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99