The independent voice of cricket


CPL 2021 draft: Full list of squads and released players

CPL 2021 draft
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The player’s draft for the upcoming edition of the Caribbean Premier League was completed on May 28, 2021 – here’s a look at the new signings along with the complete list of squads for the upcoming CPL.

The ninth edition of CPL begins from August 28 to September 19 in St Kitts and Nevis and will feature some of the biggest games in the world of cricket. While local players such as Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, and Dwayne Bravo will be in action, fans will also get to see overseas stars Chris Morris, Faf du Plessis, Matthew Wade, Shoaib Malik, and Haider Ali.

The biggest interest to Indian fans, however, will be the presence of Smit Patel, who recently played for Baroda in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy earlier this year. A former U19 wicketkeeper for India in the 2012 World Cup, Smit has been picked up by Barbados Tridents as an MLC (Major League Cricket) player.

Here is all you need to know about the CPL 2021 draft and the final squads of all franchises.

Updated till May 29, 2021.

Full squads:

Jamaica Tallawahs

Players released: Asif Ali, Nicholas Kirton, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Ramaal Lewis, Glenn Phillips, Oshane Thomas, Sandeep Lamichhane, Preston McSween, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Final squad: Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Haider Ali, Chadwick Walton, Fidel Edwards, Qais Ahmed, Jason Mohammad, Migael Pretorius, Kennar Lewis, Ibrahim Zadran, Veerasammy Peramaul, Abhijay Mansingh, Joshua James, Kirk McKenzie, Ryan Persaud

St Lucia Zouks

Players released: Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Scott Kuggeleijn, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Kimani Melius, Daren Sammy, Chemar Holder, Saad Bin Zafar, Zahir Khan.

Final squad: Faf du Plessis, Wahab Riaz, Keemo Paul, Matthew Wade, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Usman Qadir, Samit Patel, Obed McCoy, Rakheem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Roston Chase, Javelle Glen, Keron Cottoy, Jeavor Royal, Kadeem Alleyne, Alzarri Joseph

Trinbago Knight Riders

Players released: Pravin Tambe, Tim Seifert, Fawad Ahmed, Amir Jangoo, DJ Bravo.

Final squad: Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Sandeep Lamichhane, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Isuru Udana, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Denesh Ramdin, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Leonardo Julian, Ali Khan

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Players released: Chris Lynn, Kieran Powell, Nick Kelly, Denesh Ramdin, Ben Dunk, Jahmar Hamilton, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Alzarri Joseph, Colin Archibald, Imran Khan.

Final squad: Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Fabien Allen, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Wanindu Hasaranga, Devon Thomas, Rayad Emrit, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Colin Archibald, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Dominic Drakes, Joshua Da Silva, Mikyle Louis

Barbados Tridents

Players released: Rashid Khan, Mitchell Santner, Corey Anderson, Shamarh Brooks, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Keon Harding and Shayan Jahangir.

Final squad: Chris Morris, Jason Holder, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Amir, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Oshane Thomas, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr, Azam Khan, Raymon Reifer, Justin Greaves, Ashley Nurse, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Nyeem Young, Joshua Bishop, Smit Patel

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Players released: Chris Green, Ross Taylor, Keemo Paul, Kissoondath Magram, Sherfane Rutherford and Jasdeep Singh.

Final squad: Nicholas Pooran, Shoaib Malik, Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Mohammad Hafeez, Brandon King, Naveen ul Haq, Romario Shepherd, Waqar Salamkheil, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Odeon Smith, Niall Smith, Gudakesh Motie, Anthony Bramble, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmead Nedd

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99