The independent voice of cricket

The Hundred

The Hundred 2022 squads: The complete list for every men’s team

The Hundred 2022 squads
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

The second edition of The Hundred, the ECB’s domestic 100-ball competition, will take place in 2022 – here are how the squads look for the men’s tournament.

Southern Brave triumphed in the men’s edition of the tournament in 2021; Paul Stirling hit 61 off 46 balls in the final at Lord’s to inspire a 32-run win over Birmingham Phoenix, who were led by England all-rounder Moeen Ali.

This year’s competition gets underway on August 3, with defending champions Brave taking on Welsh Fire at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

The draft for this year’s tournament took place behind closed doors on April 4, with the results of it revealed the following day.

Here’s how the eight teams stack up.

As of August 4, 2022

The Hundred 2022 squads – men’s competition

Birmingham Phoenix

Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Adam Milne, Benny Howell, Will Smeed, Chris Benjamin, Miles Hammond, Henry Brookes, Jack Leach, Matthew Wade, Kane Richardson, Tom Helm, Graeme van Buuren, Imran Tahir, Dan Mousley

Update: Brett D’Oliveira and Timm van der Gugten were added to the squad

London Spirit

Zak Crawley, Mark Wood, Glenn Maxwell (Josh Inglis to replace when Maxwell departs for international duty), Eoin Morgan, Mason Crane, Dan Lawrence, Adam Rossington, Ravi Bopara, Brad Wheal, Kieron Pollard, Liam Dawson, Nathan Ellis, Jordan Thompson, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Chris Wood, Ben McDermott, Toby Roland-Jones, Jamie Smith

Manchester Originals

Jos Buttler, Ollie Robinson, Phil Salt, Matt Parkinson, Tom Hartley, Tom Lammonby, Colin Ackermann, Wayne Madsen, Fred Klaasen, Calvin Harrison, Andre Russell, Laurie Evans, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dan Worrall, Sean Abbott, Richard Gleeson, Mitchell Stanley, Ashton Turner, Paul Walter

Update: Tristan Stubbs replaced Hasaranga after the Sri Lankan was denied NOC by SLC.

Northern Superchargers

Adil Rashid, David Willey, Faf du Plessis, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Matthew Potts, John Simpson, Adam Lyth, Callum Parkinson, Dwayne Bravo, Wahab Riaz, Adam Hose, Roelof van der Merwe, Luke Wright, Jordan Clark, Michael Pepper, Ben Raine, David Wiese

Oval Invincibles

Sam Billings, Rory Burns, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Nathan Sowter, Reece Topley, Jordan Cox, Rilee Rossouw, Danny Briggs, Hilton Cartwright, Matt Milnes, Jack Leaning, Pat Brown, Mohammad Hasnain, Jack Haynes

Southern Brave

Jofra Archer, Alex Davies, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Craig Overton, James Vince, Ross Whiteley, Quinton de Kock (James Fuller to replace when de Kock on international duty), Marcus Stoinis (Paul Stirling will replace when Stoinis is away on international duty), Jake Lintott, Tim David, Joe Weatherley, Daniel Moriarty, Rehan Ahmed, Finn Allen, Michael Hogan

Trent Rockets

Matthew Carter, Marchant de Lange, Lewis Gregory, Rashid Khan (Tabraiz Shamsi will replace when Rashid is away on international duty), Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney, Joe Root, Colin Munro, Luke Wood, Luke Fletcher, Samit Patel, Sam Cook, Ian Cockbain, Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Welsh Fire

Jonny Bairstow, Ollie Pope, Ben Duckett, Jake Ball, David Payne, Leus du Plooy, Ryan Higgins, Josh Cobb, Joe Clarke, Tom Banton, Adam Zampa, David Miller, Naseem Shah, Sam Hain, Jacob Bethell, Matt Critchley, Noor Ahmad, George Scrimshaw

Update: Bairstow will miss the opening stages of the competition. He was due to play two games ahead of England’s Test series against South Africa.

Naseem Shah has withdrawn following his selection for Pakistan’s tour of the Netherlands.

To bet on The Hundred head to bet365. You can get last year’s winners:

Southern Brave Men @ 3/1 to win

Oval Invincibles Women @ 4/1 to win

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99