The independent voice of cricket


County Cricket fixtures: Bob Willis Trophy full schedule, dates and start times revealed

Bob Willis Trophy fixtures
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The England and Wales Cricket Board on Friday, July 24, announced the full list of fixtures for this year’s shortened red-ball competition, the Bob Willis Trophy.

Instead of the full County Championship this season, all 18 first-class counties will feature in the shortened competition, which will have altered playing conditions due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Bob Willis Trophy will be a separate competition from the County Championship, but will have first-class status and will consist of three regionalised groups of six county teams each. The teams will play five group-stage games, one against each county in the group. The two group winners with the most points will then face each other in the five-day final.

The groups are as follows:

North Group: Derbyshire, Durham, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Yorkshire
Central Group: Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Warwickshire, Worcestershire
South Group: Essex, Kent, Hampshire, Middlesex, Surrey, Sussex

The Bob Willis Trophy will have a different points system compared to the County Championship, increasing the points awarded for a draw from five to eight. The rest of the point system will remain the same as the County Championship.

The playing conditions in the Bob Willis Trophy, altered from the County Championship, will include:

  • A reduction from a minimum of 96 overs to a minimum of 90 overs in a day’s play
  • Each county’s first innings of a match can last no longer than 120 overs
  • The follow-on will increase from 150 to 200 runs
  • The new ball will be available after 90 overs rather than 80 overs

Being a separate competition, the results of the Bob Willis Trophy will have no impact on the divisions for next year’s County Championship.

Complete list of Bob Willis Trophy fixtures:

Group Slot Start Home Away Venue
Central 1 01-08-2020 Gloucs Worcs Bristol County Ground
Central 1 01-08-2020 Somerset Glamorgan The Cooper Associates County Ground
Central 1 01-08-2020 Warwicks Northants Edgbaston
North 1 01-08-2020 Derby Notts Trent Bridge
North 1 01-08-2020 Durham Yorks Emirates Riverside
North 1 01-08-2020 Leics Lancs TBC
South 1 01-08-2020 Essex Kent The Cloudfm County Ground
South 1 01-08-2020 Surrey Middlesex Kia Oval
South 1 01-08-2020 Sussex Hants The 1st Central County Ground
Central 2 08-08-2020 Gloucs Warwicks Bristol County Ground
Central 2 08-08-2020 Northants Somerset The County Ground Northampton
Central 2 08-08-2020 Worcs Glamorgan Blackfinch New Road
North 2 08-08-2020 Durham Lancs Emirates Riverside
North 2 08-08-2020 Leics Derby TBC
North 2 08-08-2020 Notts Yorks Trent Bridge
South 2 08-08-2020 Essex Surrey The Cloudfm County Ground
South 2 08-08-2020 Kent Sussex Canterbury
South 2 08-08-2020 Middlesex Hants Radlett
Central 3 15-08-2020 Glamorgan Gloucs Sophia Gardens
Central 3 15-08-2020 Northants Worcs The County Ground Northampton
Central 3 15-08-2020 Warwicks Somerset Edgbaston
North 3 15-08-2020 Durham Leics Emirates Riverside
North 3 15-08-2020 Lancs Notts Emirates Old Trafford
North 3 15-08-2020 Yorks Derby Emerald Headingley
South 3 15-08-2020 Hants Surrey Arundel
South 3 15-08-2020 Kent Middlesex Canterbury
South 3 15-08-2020 Sussex Essex The 1st Central County Ground
Central 4 22-08-2020 Northants Glamorgan The County Ground Northampton
Central 4 22-08-2020 Somerset Gloucs The Cooper Associates County Ground
Central 4 22-08-2020 Worcs Warwicks Blackfinch New Road
North 4 22-08-2020 Derby Durham Emirates Riverside
North 4 22-08-2020 Leics Notts The Fischer County Ground, Grace Road
North 4 22-08-2020 Yorks Lancs Emerald Headingley
South 4 22-08-2020 Hants Essex Arundel
South 4 22-08-2020 Middlesex Sussex Radlett
South 4 22-08-2020 Surrey Kent Kia Oval
Central 5 06-09-2020 Glamorgan Warwicks Sophia Gardens
Central 5 06-09-2020 Gloucs Northants Bristol County Ground
Central 5 06-09-2020 Worcs Somerset Blackfinch New Road
North 5 06-09-2020 Lancs Derby Liverpool
North 5 06-09-2020 Notts Durham Trent Bridge
North 5 06-09-2020 Yorks Leics Emerald Headingley
South 5 06-09-2020 Essex Middlesex The Cloudfm County Ground
South 5 06-09-2020 Kent Hants Canterbury
South 5 06-09-2020 Surrey Sussex Kia Oval

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99