The independent voice of cricket

Big Bash League 2023/24

BBL 2023/24 squad: Full team lists and injury updates for Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers celebrate with BBL 2022/23 trophy
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

The 2023/24 Big Bash League will begin on December 7. Here are the BBL 2023/24 squad details, including full team lists and injury updates.

Big Bash League 2023/24 (stylised as BBL|13) will commence on December 7 with the usual eight teams, with a match between Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars at the Gabba.

The first stage of the BBL will be a 40-match league, where each team plays two teams twice and the other five teams once each. These will be followed by the Page Playoffs, followed in most franchise-based leagues around the world.


Rashid Khan and Harry Brook are among the prominent cricketers to have withdrawn from this edition of the BBL. The Adelaide Strikers have replaced Rashid with David Payne, while the Melbourne Strikers have brought in Liam Dawson, albeit for three matches, for Harry Brook.

There will be two new captains this time – Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes) and Chris Green (Sydney Thunder).

BBL 2023/24 squad: Full team lists and injury updates for Big Bash League

Adelaide Strikers: Travis Head, Wes Agar, James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Brendan Doggett, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Chris Lynn, Ben Manenti, D’Arcy Short, Matt Short, Henry Thornton, Jamie Overton, Adam Hose, Jake Weatherald, Harry Nielsen, David Payne. Coach: Jason Gillespie.

Brisbane Heat: Usman Khawaja (c), Xavier Bartlett, Josh Brown, Max Bryant, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Michael Neser, Marnus Labuschagne, Jimmy Peirson, Will Prestwidge, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Colin Munro, Sam Billings, Paul Walter, Jack Wildermuth. Coach: Wade Seccombe.

Hobart Hurricanes: Nathan Ellis (c), Iain Carlisle, Tim David, Paddy Dooley, Peter Hatzoglou, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Billy Stanlake, Mac Wright, Chris Jordan, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Liam Guthrie, Nikhil Chaudhary, Sam Heazlett. Coach: Adam Griffith.

Melbourne Renegades: Nic Maddinson (c), Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, MacKenzie Harvey, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Peter Siddle, Jon Wells, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa, Quinton de Kock, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Joe Clarke, Harry Dixon. Coach: David Saker.

Melbourne Stars: Glenn Maxwell, Scott Boland, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sam Harper, Joel Paris, Nick Larkin, Tom Rogers, Mark Steketee, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Liam Dawson (for three matches). Coach: Peter Moores.

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Turner (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Hamish McKenzie, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, Zak Crawley, Laurie Evans. Coach: Adam Voges.

Sydney Sixers: Moises Henriques (c), Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk, Hayden Kerr, Todd Murphy, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Tom Curran, James Vince, Rehan Ahmed, Steve Smith. Coach: Greg Shipperd.

Sydney Thunder: Chris Green (c), Cameron Bancroft, Ollie Davies, Matt Gilkes, Liam Hatcher, Nathan McAndrew, Blake Nikitaras, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, Alex Hales, Zaman Khan. Coach: Trevor Bayliss.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99