The independent voice of cricket


ICC name their men’s T20I Team of the Decade

ICC T20I decade
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The ICC have named their men’s T20I Team of the Decade as part of their ICC Awards of the Decade series.

The side, picked by the ICC’s Voting Academy of journalists and broadcasters, features players from six nationalities; the selections for the XI were based on performances from January 1, 2011 and October 7, 2020.

The ICC T20I team is led by MS Dhoni, India’s former captain, and also features Virat Kohli,  Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah from the Indian team. Australia’s limited-overs skipper Aaron Finch is also part of the team along with his teammate Glenn Maxwell, while South Africa have a sole representation in AB de Villiers. West Indies T20 superstars Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle also make it to the XI, along with Afghanistan spin sensation Rashid Khan and Sri Lanka veteran quick Lasith Malinga.

No player from New Zealand made the cut: Martin Guptill, the fourth-highest run-getter in the period, is a notable absentee, as is his teammate Colin Munro, who hit three T20I centuries in that period. In the bowling department, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who took the second-most wickets in that period and also scored nine fifties, misses out.

ICC T20I Team of the Decade

Rohit Sharma (India)
Chris Gayle (West Indies)
Aaron Finch (Australia)
Virat Kohli (India)
AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
MS Dhoni – captain (India)
Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
Jasprit Bumrah (India)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99