The independent voice of cricket

Sheffield Shield 2020/21

Sheffield Shield 2020/21: Western Australia team preview, fixtures & squad list

Sheffield Shield 2020/21: Western Australia
by Wisden Staff 2-minute read

After a disappointing finish last season, Western Australia will hope to hit the ground running this time in the 2020/21 Sheffield Shield.

Coach: Adam Voges

Captain: Mitchell Marsh*

Squad: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Hilton Cartwright, Cameron Gannon, Cameron Green, Liam Guthrie, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Shaun Marsh (stand-in skipper), David Moody, Lance Morris, Joel Paris, Corey Rocchiccioli, D’Arcy Short, Ashton Turner, Sam Whiteman

*currently sidelined with injury

Last year’s finish: Fifth

Tournament history: Western Australia played their first Sheffield Shield in 1947/48, and have since won the competition 15 times. In that time, only New South Wales have won the competition more times. Nonetheless, WA have yet to win the tournament this century, with their last Sheffield Shield triumph coming as far back as 1999.

Shaun Marsh’s runs will be key for Western Australia in the 2020/21 Sheffield Shield

Key player: Shaun Marsh. The veteran was their highest scorer last season, with 724 runs in nine matches – it meant he finished third in the run charts. His days as an Australian international may well be over, but the runs are likely to keep flowing at domestic level.


Oct 10-13: v South Australia
Oct 19-22: v New South Wales
Oct 30-Nov 2: New South Wales
Nov 8-11: Tasmania

Full Sheffield Shield 2020/21 fixtures and schedule.

The other team previews can be found here.

Here’s how you can follow each Sheffield Shield 2020/21 game, including live stream details.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99