The independent voice of cricket

Sheffield Shield 2020/21

Sheffield Shield 2020/21: South Australia team preview, fixtures & squad list

South Australia Sheffield Shield
by Wisden Staff 2-minute read

Hit hard in their operations by the Covid-19 pandemic, South Australia will look to complete a transformation of sorts in the 2020/21 Sheffield Shield under new coach Jason Gillespie. Having been in the bottom half of the Shield table for three consecutive seasons, can they turn things around this year?

Coach: Jason Gillespie

Captain: Travis Head

Full squad: Travis Head (c), Wes Agar, Tom Cooper, Brad Davis, Callum Ferguson, Henry Hunt, Conor McInerney, Harry Nielsen, Lloyd Pope, Luke Robins, Chadd Sayers, Liam Scott, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Nick Winter

Last year’s finish: Sixth

Tournament history: South Australia have won the title 13 times, but haven’t been the same team since 1995/96, the last time they won the championship. In the last three seasons, they have won just four out of their 29 games, finishing the 2018/19 season with no wins.

Key player: While the many of his Australia teammates are currently featuring in the IPL, South Australia skipper Travis Head is at home and will want to use the red-ball experience as preparation ahead of the highly-anticipated series against India.


Full Sheffield Shield 2020/21 fixtures and schedule

The other team previews can be found here.

Here’s how you can follow each Sheffield Shield 2020/21 game, including live stream details.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99