The independent voice of cricket

Sheffield Shield 2020/21

Sheffield Shield 2020/21: Queensland team preview, fixtures & squad list

Sheffield Shield 2020/21: Queensland
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Currently out of the Australia set-up, can Usman Khawaja lead Queensland to glory in the 2020/21 Sheffield Shield?

Coach: Wade Seccombe

Captain: Usman Khawaja

Squad: Usman Khawaja (c), Xavier Bartlett, Joe Burns, Blake Edwards, Benji Floros, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Lachy Pfeffer, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

Last year’s finish: Third

Tournament history: Queensland have won the Shield on eight occasions, with their most recent triumph in 2017/18. After topping the table in the regular season, the Bulls defeated Tasmania by nine wickets in the final, the tournament leading run-scorer Matthew Renshaw dominating a chase of 128 with an unbeaten 83-ball 81.

Usman Khawaja will lead Queensland in the 2020/21 Sheffield Shield

Key player: Marnus Labuschagne. Since arriving in the UK in 2019 for a stint with Glamorgan Labuschagne has barely put a foot wrong, establishing himself as Australia’s Test No.3 with a healthy batting average of 63.43 after 14 Tests.


Oct 10-13: v Tasmania
Oct 30-Nov 2: v South Australia
Nov 8-11: v Victoria

Full Sheffield Shield 2020/21 fixtures and schedule.

The other team previews can be found here.

Here’s how you can follow each Sheffield Shield 2020/21 game, including live stream details.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99