The independent voice of cricket

ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023

ICC World Cup 2023 schedule: Full fixtures list, time table and venues for WC 2023

World Cup 2023 cricket schedule: Full fixtures list, venues and timings
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The ICC announced the schedule for the 2023 ICC Men’s 50-over World Cup, to be held in India, beginning October 5 in Ahmedabad: here’s the full match fixtures list, venues and timings for the 16th edition of the WC.

The schedule for the World Cup was released with 100 days to go for the multi-national event. However, with a number of games clashing with the festival dates in India at the time of the year, the BCCI had to make a few tweaks. The ICC has now released the final schedule after several days of speculation over the exact fixtures list.

Pakistan, whose participation at one point in the tournament was in doubt, are one of the ten teams that will feature in the event.

ICC World Cup 2023: When will the tournament start?

As many as 48 games will take place over a span of 46 days, with each of the ten teams playing the other side once in the league stage. The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, which will be played on November 15 and 16, with the final being held on November 19 in Ahmedabad.

ICC World Cup 2023: What are the venues?

The event will kickstart with England taking on New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

A total of 10 venues have been shortlisted for the event – Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Mumbai, Bengaluru, and Kolkata.


ICC World Cup 2023: Which teams are playing?

Eight teams for the event have been finalised. Hosts India have qualified directly, while Afghanistan, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa made it through the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

The two teams that qualified from the World Cup Qualifiers were Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

This will be the first time India are solely hosting the competition, having previously acted as co-hosts with other subcontinent countries in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

Pakistan, whose participation was initially in doubt due to ongoing political tensions with India, will play their games in Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, and Kolkata.

The big India-Pakistan clash is scheduled for October 15 and will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

ICC World Cup 2023 schedule: Full fixtures list, time table and venues

*Rescheduled games are in bold

Thursday, October 5: England v New Zealand (Ahmedabad)
Friday, October 6: Pakistan v Qualifier 1 (Hyderabad)
Saturday, October 7: Bangladesh v Afghanistan (Dharamsala)
Saturday, October 7: South Africa v Qualifier 2 (Delhi)
Sunday, October 8: India v Australia (Chennai)
Monday, October 9: New Zealand v Qualifier 1 (Hyderabad)
Tuesday, October 10: England v Bangladesh (Dharamsala)
Wednesday, October 11: India v Afghanistan (Delhi)
Thursday, October 12: Pakistan v Qualifier 2 (Hyderabad) – shifted to October 10
Friday, October 13: Australia v South Africa (Lucknow) – shifted to October 12
Saturday, October 14: England v Afghanistan (Delhi) – shifted to October 15
Saturday, October 14: New Zealand v Bangladesh (Chennai) – shifted to October 13
Sunday, October 15: India v Pakistan (Ahmedabad) – shifted to October 14
Monday, October 16: Australia v Qualifier 2 (Lucknow)
Tuesday, October 17: South Africa v Qualifier 1 (Dharamsala)
Wednesday, October 18: New Zealand v Afghanistan (Chennai)
Thursday, October 19: India v Bangladesh (Pune)
Friday, October 20: Australia v Pakistan (Bengaluru)
Saturday, October 21: England v South Africa (Mumbai)
Saturday, October 21: Qualifier 1 v Qualifier 2 (Lucknow)
Sunday, October 22: India v New Zealand (Dharamsala)
Monday, October 23: Pakistan v Afghanistan (Chennai)
Tuesday, October 24: South Africa v Bangladesh (Mumbai)
Wednesday, October 25: Australia v Qualifier 1 (Delhi)
Thursday, October 26: England v Qualifier 2 (Bengaluru)
Friday, October 27: Pakistan v South Africa (Chennai)
Saturday, October 28: Qualifier 1 v Bangladesh (Kolkata)
Saturday, October 28: Australia v New Zealand (Dharamsala)
Sunday, October 29: India v England (Lucknow)
Monday, October 30: Afghanistan v Qualifier 2 (Pune)
Tuesday, October 31: Pakistan v Bangladesh (Kolkata)
Wednesday, November 1: New Zealand v South Africa (Pune)
Thursday, November 2: India v Qualifier 2 (Mumbai)
Friday, November 3: Qualifier 1 v Afghanistan (Lucknow)
Saturday, November 4: England v Australia (Ahmedabad)
Saturday, November 4: New Zealand v Pakistan (Bengaluru)
Sunday, November 5: India v South Africa (Kolkata)
Monday, November 6: Bangladesh v Qualifier 2 (Delhi)
Tuesday, November 7: Australia v Afghanistan (Mumbai)
Wednesday, November 8: England v Qualifier 1 (Pune)
Thursday, November 9: New Zealand v Qualifier 2 (Bengaluru)
Friday, November 10: South Africa v Afghanistan (Ahmedabad)
Saturday, November 11: India v Qualifier 1 (Bengaluru) – shifted to November 12
Sunday, November 12: England v Pakistan (Kolkata) – shifted to November 11
Sunday, November 12: Australia v Bangladesh (Pune) – shifted to November 11

Semi-finals and final

Wednesday, November 15: Semi-final 1, TBD v TBD (Mumbai)
Thursday, November 16: Semi-final 2, TBD v TBD (Kolkata)
Sunday, November 19: Final, TBD v TBD (Ahmedabad)

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99