The independent voice of cricket

Women's T20 World Cup 2023

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 squad: Full players list, team news and injury updates for all ten sides

Meg Lanning, captain of Australia poses with the trophy after winning the Final of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup is almost upon us, with the competition all set to get underway in South Africa – here is the full players list, team news and injury updates for all ten sides.

Ten sides will participate in the eighth edition of the tournament. Australia go in as the favourites in search of their sixth title, with England and India the next favoured teams.

It is the first time the tournament will be hosted in South Africa, with matches set to be held at Newlands Cricket Ground, Boland Park and St George’s Park Cricket Ground.


Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Full players list, team news and injury updates


Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham.

Coach: Shelley Nitschke

Alyssa Healy and Georgia Wareham both return to Australia’s squad after recovering from injury. Wareham has been on the sidelines since October 2021 after suffering an ACL injury, she made her domestic return last month for Victoria. Meg Lanning is also back in the squad as captain after taking a break from the game to prioritise her mental health last year.


Squad: Nigar Sultana (c), Rumana Ahmed, Dilara Akter, Marufa Akter, Nahida Akter, Shorna Akter, Jahanara Alam, Disha Biswas, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Salma Khatun, Lata Mondal, Ritu Moni, Sobhana Mostary, Shamima Sultana.

Travelling Reserves: Rabeya Khan, Sanjida Akter Meghla, Sharmin Akter Supta.

Coach: Hashan Tillakaratne

Bangladesh’s squad features a number of their stars from the recently concluded U19 World Cup, in which they stunned Australia in their first match to claim a memorable victory.


Squad: Heather Knight (c), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Katherine Sciver-Brunt, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

Travelling Reserves: Dani Gibson, Issy Wong

Coach: Jon Lewis

Alice Capsey was named in England’s side despite being yet to fully recover from a broken collar-bone which she sustained playing against the West Indies in December. Kate Cross has also been included in the squad despite not playing a T20I since 2019.


Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Yastika Bhatia, Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Richa Ghosh, Shikha Pandey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Renuka Singh, Devika Vaidya, Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav.

Travelling Reserves: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.

Coach: Hrishikesh Kanitkar

Pooja Vastrakar’s inclusion in the squad is subject to fitness after she suffered an injury in December. India recently lost out in the final of their T20I tri-series to South Africa in a warm-up competition for the tournament.


Squad: Laura Delany (c), Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Rachel Delaney, Mary Waldron.

Coach: Ed Joyce

Ireland have named a young squad for the tournament with an average age of 24 years across their playing group. Rebecca Stokell was originally named in their squad as a batter, but was ruled out of the tournament with injury in February and replaced with Rachel Delaney.

New Zealand

Squad: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Eden Carson, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu.

Coach: Ben Sawyer

New Zealand have reached the final of the competition twice in 2009 and 2010, first losing ut to England and then Australia. Having named a young group of players for this year’s tournament, they have been further boosted by the return of all-rounder Brooke Halliday from injury.


Squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Sadaf Shamas, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz, Tuba Hassan.

Travelling Reserves: Ghulam Fatima, Kainat Imtiaz.

Coach: Mark Coles

Pakistan suffered a huge injury blow in the weeks leading up to the tournament after pace bowler Diana Baig suffered a finger injury which ruled her out of the competition. She has been replaced in the squad by batter Sadaf Shamas.

South Africa

Squad: Sune Luus (c), Annerie Dercksen, Marizanne Kapp, Lara Goodall, Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Tazmin Brits, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Anneke Bosch, Delmi Tucker.

Non-traveling reserves: Micaéla Andrews, Tebogo Macheke, Tumi Sekhukhune.

Coach: Hilton Moreeng

The hosts were hit with controversy just before the start of the tournament when they opted not to select their talismanic all-rounder Dane van Niekerk after she failed to meet fitness requirements. Marizanne Kapp was given compassionate leave for South Africa’s tri-series after van Niekerk was left out, but is still expected to participate in the tournament.

Sri Lanka

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Kaushini Nuthyangana, Malsha Shehani, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Vishmi Gunaratne, Tharika Sewwandi, Ama Kanchana, Sathya Sandeepani.

Coach: Hashan Tillakaratne

Batter Hasini Perera will not take part in the tournament after picking up a finger injury during practice. She is replaced in the squad by Sathya Sandeepani.

West Indies

Squad: Hayley Matthews (c), Shemaine Campbelle (vc), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Shabika Gajnabi, Chinelle Henry, Trishan Holder, Zaida James, Djenaba Joseph, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams.

Coach: Courtney Walsh

West Indies former captain and all-rounder Stafanie Taylor has been included in the squad subject to a fitness test. She has been battling a back injury ahead of the tournament which kept her out of the side for the West Indies home series against England in December. Zaida James, Trishan Holder and Djenaba Joseph were all included in the squad after impressing in the U19 World Cup.

*updated until February 4, 2023

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99