The independent voice of cricket

West Indies v Sri Lanka

West Indies v Sri Lanka 2021: The Complete West Indies ODI & T20I Squad & Team List

Gayle named in West Indies Sri Lanka series squad
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

West Indies take on Sri Lanka in the limited-overs series that begins in the Caribbean Islands on March 3 and have announced a strong 14-man T20I squad and a 13-man ODI team.

Veterans Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo made a comeback to the T20I side for the three-match T20I series against a visiting Sri Lankan side. Also included in the side is fast bowler Fidel Edwards, who makes an international return after a nine-year absence.

Edwards had taken a Kolpak deal with Hampshire in 2015, but with the new regulations after UK’s move away from the European Union, he held discussions with coach Phil Simmons and skipper Kieron Pollard to make a comeback in the shortest format of the game.

Gayle and Bravo come back right in time for West Indies’ preparation for the T20 World Cup in India later this year. Notably missing is Andre Russell, who had earlier been down with COVID-19. He wasn’t considered for selection owing to medical advice against the same.
Gayle had earlier hinted at playing until 45, and cleared fitness tests after returning home from the Pakistan Super League. He had a stellar IPL season last year. Also back in the white ball setup is Jason Holder, the Test captain.

Left-arm spinner Akeal Hossain and 21-year-old off-spinner Kevin Sinclair add variety in the spin department and is present in both squads. Fabian Allen is the other spinning option in the sides.

“Akeal Hosein performed very well in Bangladesh [ODI Series] and had excellent stats in the CPL so this is an opportunity to see how he equips himself in this format,” the release by Cricket West Indies read. “Kevin Sinclair grabbed our attention in the Super50 Cup back in 2019 and has been consistently economical in the last CPL and the current CG Insurance Super50. He will provide an off-spinning option for the team.”

According to the media release, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Shimron Hetmyer and Roston Chase failed to reach the minimum fitness standards and were not picked.

West Indies T20I squad for Sri Lanka series

Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

West Indies ODI squad for Sri Lanka series

Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99