The independent voice of cricket

West Indies v Sri Lanka

West Indies v Sri Lanka: SL ODI & T20I squad for the tour of Caribbean

Sri Lanka squad West Indies
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Sri Lanka announced their limited-overs squad for their upcoming series against West Indies in March – here’s the complete ODI and T20I squad for the series.

The 20-man squad for the tour of the Caribbean was announced earlier this month, and the contingent flew out of Sri Lanka on February 22. Dimuth Karunaratne has been named ODI captain for the series, while Dasun Shanaka will be the T20I captain of the side.

It is understood that Lasith Malinga, who’s captained the island nation in T20Is in the recent past, hasn’t trained with the squad in the last few months, and is out of contention.

Lahiru Kumara was initially named in the squad but was withdrawn after testing positive for Covid-19. Suranga Lakmal took his place in the contingent. Batsmen Pathum Nisakka and Ashen Bandara, along with quick bowler Dilshan Madushanka are the three uncapped players in the squad. Madushanka represented Sri Lanka in the U19 World Cup, and had been included in the training squad ahead of their tour of Sri Lanka last year.

The squad also contains experienced names such as Thisara Perera and Angelo Mathews.  Dinesh Chandimal, who last played a T20I in 2018, is also part of the squad.

Ahead of the tour, former seamer Chaminda Vaas was named the side’s bowling coach, but just days later, quit the role, after which Sri Lanka cricket put out a bitter press release, clearly expressing their displeasure.

The two teams will play three T20Is, which will be followed by as many ODIs. Two Tests will also be held later in March.

Complete Sri Lanka ODI and T20I squad for West Indies series

Dimuth Karunaratne (ODI captain), Dasun Shanaka (T20I captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal (in for Lahiru Kumara)

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99