The independent voice of cricket

West Indies v India 2023

WI vs IND 2023, India Test squad: Chesteshwar Pujara dropped, Yashasvi Jaiswal included for India’s tour of West Indies

India Test squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal included, Cheteshwar Pujara dropped | WI vs IND 2023
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

India have announced their Test squad for the upcoming 2023 tour of West Indies — here’s the complete squad list for the WI vs IND two-match series.

After a disappointing end to the 2021-2023 World Test Championship cycle, where India lost in the final to Australia, Rohit Sharma’s team have made a number of key changes to their squad as they embark on the third cycle of the WTC with a tour to the Caribbean. Despite question marks over Rohit’s leadership during the clash with Australia, he manages to hold on to the responsibility but has a new deputy with him. Ajinkya Rahane has been named the vice-captain. India did not have a vice-captain for the last two Australia Tests after KL Rahul was stripped from the role midway through the series. They went in without a vice-captain in the WTC final as well.

The major highlight from the squad announcement is that Cheteshwar Pujara has been dropped, while Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashaswi Jaiswal have been given maiden call-ups. It is a major hint that the selectors have started phasing out the non-performing seniors as they begin the phase of transition. Pujara averages just under 26 in 2023 in five Tests, scoring 181 with a high score of 59.

Domestic performers have been rewarded for their returns and have been given an opportunity. Jaiswal, who has a first-class average of 80.21 in 15 games, has been given a look-in as has Gaikwad, who has six hundreds and nine fifties in 28 first-class games, at an average of 42.19. However, Sarfaraz Khan continues to wait for his turn despite being in stunning form in the last few seasons and averaging 79.65.

Mohammed Shami has been rested for the series, with Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar making the team instead. Navdeep Saini, who last played for India in 2021, has also been included.


WI vs IND 2023: Full India Test squad


Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain)


KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan


R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel


Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99