A controversial umpiring decision in the second West Indies-England Test at Barbados saw Nkrumah Bonner depart lbw for 9, despite viewers, pundits and commentators feeling a clear inside-edge had been missed on review.
The moment came in the 45th over of West Indies’ reply to England’s first-innings total of 507-9, with Ben Stokes adding a wicket to his first-innings century. Nkrumah Bonner, West Indies’ hero in the first Test, was pinned on his pads but went for a review immediately, perhaps suggesting that he felt he had hit it.
The replays showed the ball close to the bat before hitting the pad, with what seemed to be a deviation before the pad was struck. UltraEdge showed an extended spike, which started as the ball was close to the bat.
However, TV umpire Gregory Brathwaite’s first instinct was that there was no bat involved, something which surprised former England fast bowler Darren Gough, speaking on talkSPORT.
“Oh he nicked it,” said Gough on seeing the first replay, while when Brathwaite said “there doesn’t appear to be any bat,” Gough retorted, “he has.”
Brathwaite said “it was hard to conclude there was bat involved” but then said “it had missed the bat, I’m satisfied with that”, and when ball-tracking projected the ball would have clipped the top of the stumps, Bonner was sent on his way.
“I think he’s quite unlucky there Bonner, I absolutely was convinced he’s nicked it,” said Gough. “You could see the potential deflection and movement onto the pad.”
There was puzzlement from several pundits and fans too.
THAT IS OUT – That looks like a madness. Bonner (9) given out lbw and on review to my eyes he clearly inside edged it into his pad. But the Tv umpire Brathwaite says otherwise and it is given with umpire’s call. Howler territory. 101-3
— Dean Wilson (@CricketMirror) March 18, 2022
Could have sworn Bonner edged that…
— Lawrence Booth (@the_topspin) March 18, 2022
It was also pointed out how Bonner was on the receiving end of a tough decision in the first Test too.
Nkrumah Bonner was given out caught behind when he might have missed it in the first Test. And he's just been given out LBW when he might have hit it in the second Test. Tough lines. #WIvENG
— Cameron Ponsonby (@cameronponsonby) March 18, 2022
Soon after, fortune evened itself out, with England choosing not to review after Stokes hit Jermaine Blackwood on the pads. Stokes convinced Joe Root the ball would have passed down the leg-side, but the technology later showed that, had England reviewed, Blackwood would have been given out.
— Wisden (@WisdenCricket) March 18, 2022
This article is brought to you in association with Sportsbreaks.com who offer unforgettable sports travel experiences, including the Sportsbreaks.com Terrace for all England internationals and Vitality T20 Blast fixtures at Emirates Old Trafford. For more information click HERE