The independent voice of cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023/24

Mumbai, Kerala routed, Chahal takes four: Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-finals round-up

Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-finals scores
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Rajasthan, and Haryana qualified for the semi-finals of the 2023/24 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Shortly after his recall to the Indian ODI squad, Yuzvendra Chahal (4-37) shot out Bengal for 225 in Rajkot, the city where all four quarter-finals were played. For Bengal, Shahbaz Ahmed (100) was the only batter to reach 25.

Ankit Kumar (102 in 102 balls) set up Haryana’s chase. Bengal reduced them to 14-2, then 204-6, but Rahul Tewatia and Sumit Kumar saw them home with four wickets and 29 balls in hand.


In the semi-final, Haryana will face Tamil Nadu, who thrashed Mumbai by a seven-wicket margin. Despite Prasad Pawar (59 in 58 balls) and Shivam Dube’s (45 in 49) 82-run stand, Mumbai could only make 227 against Varun Chakravarthy (3-37) and Sai Kishore (3-51).

Tamil Nadu were reduced to 103-3 in response, but Baba Aparajith (103 not out in 98 balls) ensured they romped home in the 44th over with seven wickets in hand.

Mahipal Lomror (122 not out in 114 balls) and Kunal Rathore (66 in 52) helped Rajasthan amass 267-8 against Kerala, who were then shot out for 67 in 21 overs. Rajasthan needed only three bowlers – Aniket Choudhary (4-26), Arafat Khan (3-20), and Khaleel Ahmed (2-15).

Vidarbha never recovered from Vijaykumar Vyshak’s (4-44) opening spell in the fourth quarter-final. They ambled to 39-4, then 119-7, before being bowled out for 173.

Ravikumar Samarth (72 not out) and Mayank Agarwal (51) then added 82 for the first wicket, and Karnataka completed the chase just after the 40-over mark to set up a semi-final date with Rajasthan.

Of the four teams, neither Haryana nor Rajasthan has won the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Tamil Nadu have lifted the trophy five times (including a shared title with Uttar Pradesh in 2004/05) and Karnataka four times.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023/24 semi-final and final schedule:

All timings local

December 13, 2.30pm, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot: Haryana v Tamil Nadu
December 14, 2.30pm, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium C, Rajkot: Karnataka v Rajasthan

December 16, 2.30pm, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot: TBA v TBA

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99