The independent voice of cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022/23

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 – quarter-finals: Scores, updates, stats and highlights | VHT 2022/23

Narendra Modi Stadium Ranji Trophy 2022/23
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Karnataka, Maharashtra, Assam, and Saurashtra won their respective quarter-final matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 – here is a list of how all the teams fared.

Abhishek Sharma’s 109 went in vain as none of his Punjab teammates managed to reach 40, and they were bowled out for a mere 235 after being asked to bat. For Karnataka, V Kariappa took 4-40. The chase was set up by opener Ravikumar Samarth (78), and though Sanvir Singh (2-28) reduced Karnataka to 188-5, Shreyas Gopal (42) and Manoj Bhandage (25*) saw them through in the final over.

Uttar Pradesh, too, did well after opting to bowl. Only one Maharashtra batter went past 37, but that man – Ruturaj Gaikwad – made 220 not out in 159 balls to take his side to 330-5. Gaikwad hit 16 sixes, a new record in the history of the tournament, seven of which came in the 49th over, bowled by Shiva Singh. The 43-run over is now the joint-most expensive in List A history. Arun Juyal made 159 in response, but the target was too high, and Uttar Pradesh collapsed to 272 against Rajvardhan Hangargekar (5-53).


Hundreds from Shubham Khajuria (120 in 84 balls) and Henan Nazir (124 in 113) helped Jammu & Kashmir pile on 350-7 after they were put in. They also got the Assam openers with only 45 on the board, but Rishav Das (114* in 118) and Riyan Parag (174 in 116) added 277 in 36 overs to seize control of the match. Parag hit 12 fours and 12 sixes, and Assam won in the 47th over. They will play Maharashtra in the semi-final.

Tamil Nadu put Saurashtra in, and reduced Saurashtra to 232-7 before Chirag Jani slammed an unbeaten 31-ball 52, stretching the total to 293-8. Sai Sudharsan and N Jagadeesan, Tamil Nadu’s famed openers, both failed, and they were soon reduced to 51-4. Baba Indrajith (53) and R Sai Kishore (74) added 113 for the fifth wicket, but once they fell, Tamil Nadu caved in. Jani added 3-53 to his morning onslaught. Saurashtra will face Karnataka in the semi-final.

Punjab 235 in 50 overs lost to Karnataka 238-6 in 49.2 overs by 4 wickets with 4 balls to spare. Maharashtra 330-5 in 50 overs beat Uttar Pradesh 272 in 47.4 overs by 58 runs. Jammu & Kashmir 350-7 in 50 overs lost to Assam 354-3 in 46.1 overs by 7 wickets with 23 balls to spare. Saurashtra 293-8 in 50 overs beat Tamil Nadu 249 in 48 overs by 44 runs.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: remaining matches

Semi-finals, November 30
Karnataka v Saurashtra, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground A, Ahmedabad
Maharashtra v Assam, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground B, Ahmedabad

Final, December 2
TBD v TBD, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground A, Ahmedabad

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99