The independent voice of cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022/23

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 – preliminary quarter-finals: Scores, updates, stats and highlights | VHT 2022/23

Narendra Modi Stadium Ranji Trophy 2022/23
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, and Jammu & Kashmir won their respective preliminary quarter-final matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 – here is a list of how the all of teams fared.

V Kaverappa (3-20), Ronit More (3-31), and M Venkatesh (3-51) – the Karnataka seamers – reduced Jharkhand to 40-5 after Mayank Agarwal opted to bowl. Wicketkeeper Kumar Kushagra (74 in 80 balls) and Anukul Roy (57) then added 115, but the Karnataka bowlers kept striking thereafter, and Jharkhand were bowled out for 187. Karnataka lost Agarwal early, but Ravikumar Samarth (53) and Nikin Jose (63*) took the score to 93. After Samarth fell, the bowlers kept making inroads, but Jose saw them home inside 41 overs. Karnataka will play Punjab in the quarter-final.

The second preliminary quarter-final unfolded in similar fashion after Karan Sharma decided to field. Ankit Rajpoot struck with his third ball before Shivam Mavi (4-41) and Kartik Tyagi (2-43) had Mumbai at 94-5. Wicketkeeper Hardik Tamore (53) and Shams Mulani (51) came to the rescue with a 103-run stand, but despite that, Mumbai could only make 220. Madhav Kaushik (46) and wicketkeeper Aryan Juyal (82) then added 119 for the opening stand before Priyam Garg (39*) and Karan (42*) saw Uttar Pradesh home in the 46th over. Uttar Pradesh will play Maharashtra in the quarter-final.


Shubham Pundir, too, bowled first. There was no Umran Malik, but Auqib Nabi (4-39) and Yudhvir Singh (2-16) were enough for the Kerala top-order. Vinoop Manoharan (62) held up one end, but once he fell with the score on 62, Kerala folded for 174. The Jammu & Kashmir openers, Qamran Iqbal (retired hurt 51) and Shubham Khajuria (76), then laid the foundations for victory. They chased down the target in the 38th over. Jammu & Kashmir will play Assam in the quarter-final.

Jharkhand 187 in 47.1 overs lost to Karnataka 188-5 in 40.5 overs by 5 wickets with 55 balls to spare. Mumbai 220 in 48.3 overs lost to Uttar Pradesh 221-2 in 45.4 overs by 8 wickets with 26 balls to spare. Kerala 174 in 47.4 overs lost to Jammu & Kashmir 175-3 in 37.5 overs by 7 wickets with 73 balls to spare.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 preliminary quarter-finals: remaining matches

Quarter-finals, November 28
Punjab v Karnataka, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground A, Ahmedabad
Maharashtra v Uttar Pradesh, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground B, Ahmedabad
Assam v Jammu & Kashmir, Gujarat College Cricket Ground A, Ahmedabad
Tamil Nadu v Saurashtra, Gokulbhai Somabhai Patel Stadium, Nadiad

Semi-finals, November 30
TBD v TBD, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground A, Ahmedabad
TBD v TBD, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground B, Ahmedabad

Final, December 2
TBD v TBD, Narendra Modi Stadium Ground A, Ahmedabad

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99