The independent voice of cricket

T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022, South Africa Squad: Full team list, reserve players and injury replacement news for SA

South Africa will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on October 24
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

South Africa will begin their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign on October 24 at Hobart – here is the complete squad list for the ICC event, including injury news, reserve players and replacement updates.

The Proteas narrowly missed out on a semi-final berth at last year’s T20 World Cup, and would be hoping to go a step further, at the very least. Since that tournament, they have been in a rich vein of form, winning an away T20I series against England and drawing a five-match series away from home against India.

South Africa have picked a full-strength squad for the T20 World Cup. Temba Bavuma, who has not played since sustaining an injury during the India tour, returns to lead the side. Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks and Rilee Rossouw are the other top-order batting options. David Miller is expected to shoulder the middle-order burden alongside Aiden Markram. Exciting young batter Tristan Stubbs and veteran Heinrich Klaasen are also in the mix. Rassie van der Dussen, however, will miss the tournament after suffering a broken finger during the Proteas’ Test series against England.

On the bowling front, the Proteas have the luxury of choosing from a quartet of fast bowlers. Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi and Wayne Parnell have been in decent form lately. Dwaine Pretorius, meanwhile, gives them an extra all-round option. Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi spearhead South Africa’s spin department, with Markram also capable of chipping in with a few overs.

South Africa have also named three reserve players for the T20 World Cup, with those being Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin and Marco Jansen. The Proteas’ T20 World Cup campaign starts on October 24 at Hobart. Their Super 12 group also contains India and Pakistan.

South Africa squad for T20 World Cup 2022


Temba Bavuma (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs


Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen


Dwaine Pretorius


Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell

Reserve players

Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99