The independent voice of cricket

T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021 India squad: Full team list and player updates

T20 World Cup 2021 India squad
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The India team, led by Virat Kohli, start as one of the frontrunners to clinch the T20 World Cup 2021 trophy – here’s the full squad for the ICC competition, along with squad updates, player replacements and injury news for the ICC T20 WC.

LIVE: India v New Zealand – Follow live updates from the stadium, score and commentary, along with where to watch details here.

The Indian team won the inaugural edition of the T20 WC under MS Dhoni in 2007, but haven’t been able to replicate the same level of success since. They crashed out of Round 2 in 2009, 2010 and 2012, finishing as runner-up in 2014 and ending as semi-finalists in 2016. Overall, they have won 20 out of the 33 matches they have played in the World Cup, with a win percentage of 64.06.

The tournament will be Virat Kohli’s last assignment as captain of the T20I team. Rohit Sharma, who is the only player from the 2007 Indian outfit to be in the 2021 squad, is set to replace him as skipper after the global event in UAE.

India begin their campaign with a high-voltage clash against Pakistan on October 24.

India T20 World Cup 2021 fixtures: Here’s the full schedule for India

T20 World Cup 2021: India squad news and updates

India announced a 15-member squad on September 8, with Ravichandran Ashwin’s recall to the T20I setup after four years being one of the major talking points. Former India captain MS Dhoni, who has led India in each of the previous T20 World Cups, was announced as a mentor for the tournament.

The Indian team made one change to their squad on October 13. Shardul Thakur entered the squad in place of Axar Patel, who was pushed to the reserves for the tournament.

India played two warm-up matches ahead of the main event, defeating England and Australia.

T20 World Cup 2021 Warm-up fixtures: Complete schedule, along with TV channel and live streaming details.

T20 World Cup 2021 India squad: Full list


Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav


Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan


Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja


Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Varun Chakravarthy


Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

Reserve players

Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar

Additional players

Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and Krishnappa Gowtham.

T20 World Cup 2021 squads: Check the full team list for all 16 sides.

Sign up to bet365 to be entered into a draw for the chance to win a Wisden Hoodie, terms and conditions apply, more information here. 18+ begambleaware.org

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99