The independent voice of cricket

T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021 Afghanistan squad: Full team list and player updates

T20 World Cup Afghanistan squad
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Afghanistan, one of the 16 teams participating in the T20 World Cup 2021, will be hoping to qualify for their first ICC T20 WC semi-final – here’s the complete squad, including reserve players, replacements and injury updates.

In all, Afghanistan have won five out of 14 matches, they were knocked out in round one in 2010, 2012 and 2014. In 2016, they qualified for the Super 10s and beat eventual champions West Indies.

The side will be led by Mohammad Nabi who is the No.1-ranked T20I all-rounder. Afghanistan have not named a vice-captain.

The team will begin their campaign against the winners of Group B from the tournament’s first round on the 25th October. They will also play Pakistan, New Zealand, India and the runners-up of Group A.

T20 World Cup 2021 schedule: Here’s the full fixtures list for the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2021: Afghanistan squad news and updates

Update: Former Afghanistan captain Asghar Afghan announced his retirement from international cricket ahead of their game against Namibia.

They named Sharafuddin Ashraf as his replacement.

Afghanistan announced a finalised 15-member squad on October 10, making a few changes from the squad that was initially selected. Shapoor Zadran and Qais Ahmed failed to make the final squad, while Farid Ahmed Malik, who had previously been named as a reserve, was called up to the 15.

Asfar Zazai, who had been added as a reserve, has been dropped entirely. Sharafuddin Ashraf and Dawlat Zadran have both been moved to the reserve list having initially been in the provisional 15. Mohammad Nabi was named as captain after Rashid Khan stepped down in September after claiming he was not consulted by the selectors while they were finalising the squad.

T20 World Cup 2021: Afghanistan full team list


Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan (replaced by Sharafuddin Ashraf), Najibullah Zadran, Hamid Hassan


Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mohammad Shahzad


Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan


Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Farid Ahmed Malik, Naveen ul Haq

Sign up to bet365 to be entered into a draw for the chance to win a Wisden Hoodie, terms and conditions apply, more information here. 18+ begambleaware.org

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99