There was a moment of confusion in Bangladesh’s must-win first round clash against Papua New Guinea in Oman that saw Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah depart after prolonged deliberation from the umpires.
Mahmudullah, off the second ball of Damien Ravu’s final over – the 17th of the innings – hit a full toss out to Chad Soper out at deep square-leg. There was immediately suspicion that Ravu’s delivery was above waist height so the ball was checked by the third umpire, Chris Gaffaney.
This was where the confusion began. After a few viewings, Gaffaney had seemingly adjudged the ball to have been above waist height when it reached the batter with a ‘Not Out’ decision displayed on the big screen.
Less than a minute later, the screen displayed the opposite decision, with Gaffaney either having reversed his own decision or there having been a mistake with the big screen in the original showing of the decision in the ground.
Former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison summed up the confusion on commentary. He said: “Chris Gaffaney upstairs, the TMO, says N.O – not out. There are some conflicting opinions up here. Not out. Hang on, it’s just chaos out here. What’s going on? He’s changed his mind! He said ‘not out’. Oh dear, Mahmudullah is going to have to go back.”
His co-commentator, former Scotland captain Preston Mommsen, added: “Certainly some confusion. Either way, Mahmudullah not happy.”
Mahmudullah eventually made his way back to the Bangladesh dressing room after making an enterprising 28-ball 50, leaving the field with a wry smile on his face. Bangladesh went on to post the highest total of the T20 World Cup so far, 181-7 off their 20 overs.