The independent voice of cricket

Super Smash 2022/23

Super Smash T20 2022/23 squads: Full team lists for each side

Joe Walker of the Northern Brave celebrates the wicket of Mitch Hay of the Canterbury Kings during the Super Smash
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

New Zealand’s domestic T20 competition, the Super Smash, is underway for the 2022/23 season – here are the full squad and team lists for each side in the Super Smash.

Six teams compete in a round-robin format where each side plays each other twice before three qualify for the play-off stage of the competition. The top-placed team heads straight through to the final while the second- and third-placed sides face-off in an elmiinator, with the winner qualifying for the final.

Northern Brave won their third title in the 2021/22 edition of the tournament, Mitchell Santner hitting an unbeaten 92 from 40 balls in the final to set up the victory. Michael Bracewell was the leading run-scorer in the tournament, with his campaign including a blistering innings of 141* off 65 for Wellington Firebirds in the round-robin stage.


Super Smash T20 2022/23 squad: Full team lists for each side

Auckland Aces:

Adithya Ashok, Cole Briggs, Mark Chapman, Louis Delport, Lockie Ferguson, Danru Ferns, Ryan Harrison, Ben Horne, Matt Gibson, Kyle Jamieson, Simon Keene, Ben Lister, Robert O’Donnell, Will O’Donnell, Sean Solia, Will Somerville, Quinn Sunde, Ross ter Braak, George Worker, Martin Guptill.

Northern Brave:

Peter Bocock, Joe Carter, Katene Clarke, Kristian Clarke, Henry Cooper, Matt Fisher, Zak Gibson, Brett Hampton, Scott Johnston, Scott Kuggeleijn, Bharat Popli, Tim Pringle, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Freddy Walker, Joe Walker, Kane Williamson, Anurag Verma, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme.

Central Stags

Ma’ara Ave, Tom Bruce, Doug Bracewell, Josh Clarkson, Dane Cleaver, Liam Dudding, Greg Hay, Curtis Heaphy, Jayden Lennox, Ajaz Patel, Seth Rance, Brett Randell, Brad Schmulian, Ben Smith, Blair Tickner, Ray Toole, Bayley Wiggins, Will Young, Jack Boyle, Will Clark, Mason Hughes, Brett Johnson, Ross Taylor.

Wellington Firebirds

Finn Allen, Jakob Bhula, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Luke Georgeson, Troy Johnson, Nick Kelly, Callum McLachlan, Iain McPeake, Adam Milne, Ollie Newton, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Nathan Smith, Michael Snedden, Logan van Beek, Peter Younghusband.

Canterbury Kings

Chad Bowes, Matt Boyle, Leo Carter, Blake Coburn, Sean Davey, Cam Fletcher, Zak Foulkes, Mitch Hay, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Ken McClure, Cole McConchie, Angus McKenzie, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ed Nuttall, Will O’Rourke, Fraser Sheat, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Theo van Woerkom, Todd Astle.

Otago Volts

Matt Bacon, Max Chu, Jacob Cumming, Jacob Duffy, Josh Finnie, Dean Foxcroft, Jake Gibson, Andrew Hazeldine, Llew Johnson, Ben Lockrose, Jarrod McKay, Travis Muller, Dale Phillips, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rae, Michael Rippon, Hamish Rutherford

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99