The independent voice of cricket

Sri Lanka v Australia 2022

Sri Lanka v Australia 2022, squad: Full team list of SL vs AUS T20I series

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Australia travel to Sri Lanka for a white-ball series, which will be followed by two Test matches — here’s the full squad and team list for SL vs AUS T20I 2022.

Australia take on Sri Lanka for a three-match T20I series beginning on June 7, which will be followed by three ODIs and two Tests. The visitors will miss the services of Pat Cummins in the shortest format, but will otherwise be at full strength, with most of the players who missed the tour to Pakistan courtesy of the IPL 2022, returning to the setup. Adam Zampa will miss the whole tour for the birth of his child.

Senior players Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade have returned to the T20I squad that will be led by Aaron Finch. The Australian skipper is under fire after a string of low returns, including in the 2022 IPL, where he played for Kolkata Knight Riders as a replacement after Alex Hales pulled out.

The hosts, on the other hand, will welcome back Wanindu Hasaranga and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to their T20I side. Hasaranga, who picked up 26 wickets in the IPL for Royal Challengers Bangalore, had missed the T20I series against India in February due to Covid-19. Rajapaksa had not been picked due to fitness concerns.

Rajapaksa has replaced Dinesh Chandimal after making just 102 runs in his last seven T20I innings. He had a stellar IPL season for Punjab Kings, scoring 209 runs at a strike rate of just below 160, playing crucial cameos. Another player who impressed in the IPL, Matheesha Pathirana, also called ‘Malinga 2.0’, has been selected in the squad as well.

SL vs AUS 2022: T20I squad and full team list

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99