South African wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi has claimed that his teammate Quinton de Kock did not do anything wrong in Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal in the closing stages of South Africa’s tight victory over Pakistan at The Wanderers.
Zaman’s epic innings – arguably the greatest ever in a losing cause – took Pakistan within touching distance of an unlikely, come-from-behind victory. His innings was brought to an end in bizarre fashion as he was run out coming back for a second run, slowing down as he approached the crease, seemingly under the impression that the throw from Aiden Markram was heading to the other end.
The dismissal split opinion after the game, with many pundits convinced that de Kock’s part in the dismissal – where he pointed to the bowler’s end, a signal that may have distracted the batsman – ought to have been punished by the umpires. Law 41.5, termed the ‘fake fielding’ law, states that “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”. According to clause 41.5.2, “It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not.”
The day after the game, Shamsi took to Twitter to defend his teammate. Shamsi wrote: “Just 2 clarify. QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman, he was asking a fielder to back up at the non strikers end.
“Not Quinny’s fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done. Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone.”
In a further tweet, Shamsi addressed de Kock’s laughter after the dismissal. He added: “So it’s not funny that the batsman stopped running instead of completing the run?
“Lets not take the attention away from a great innings that he played and give him credit for that
“The batman’s job in that instance was to complete the run that all…”
Just 2 clarify
QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman,he was asking a fielder to back up at the non strikers end
Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done
Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone#Peace✌
— Tabraiz Shamsi (@shamsi90) April 5, 2021
Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.