The independent voice of cricket

South Africa v India

‘Two spikes’ – Virat Kohli fumes again as simultaneous bat-ground-ball UltraEdge sees caught behind review turned down

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Virat Kohli had yet another controversial encounter with the DRS involving Marais Erasmus after an appeal was turned down despite two spikes being shown in replays when the ball passed Rassie van der Dussen’s bat during day four at Cape Town.

The first ball of the 37th over sent down by Mohammed Shami saw van der Dussen attempting a drive off a full and wide delivery. However, he ended up seemingly edging it to the wicketkeeper, but the on-field umpire Marais Erasmus ruled it not out. The Indian team went up for the review, but the third umpire did not have an easy decision on his hands as the ball seemed to be grazing the bat at the same time the bat was touching the ground.

“There’s a spike before the ball reaches the bat. It [bat] hits the ground. Yeah, it’s made contact with the ground. I’m satisfied that there is no bat involved,” commented the TV umpire before ruling it not out, much to the dismay of the Indian skipper, who went up to Erasmus and said, “two spikes’, indicating that one spike could have been from the ball hitting the ground, and the other from the ball touching the blade as it went behind to Rishabh Pant.

Rassie was batting on 11 off 19 at the time, with South Africa well-placed at 120-2, needing 212 to complete a series win against India.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99