The independent voice of cricket

Sheffield Shield 2022/23

Sheffield Shield 2022/23 schedule: Full list of fixtures for Australia’s domestic tournament

South Australia Sheffield Shield
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The 2022/23 edition of the Sheffield Shield will begin on October 3 – here are the schedule and full list of fixtures for the Australian domestic tournament.

Sheffield Shield 2022/23, the 121st edition of the tournament, will feature the usual six teams – Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, and Tasmania. This season’s Sheffield Shield will start on October 3, with a match between defending champions Western Australia and New South Wales at the WACA Ground in Perth. Each team will play every other team twice, home and away. The top two teams will feature in a final, from March 23, 2023.

Defending champions Western Australia have won the Sheffield Shield 16 times. With 47 titles, New South Wales are some distance ahead of the other side. Victoria have won 32 times, South Australia 13 times, Queensland nine times, and Tasmania – who were inducted as recently as 1977/78 – thrice.


Here are the schedule and fixtures for Sheffield Shield 2022/23.

Sheffield Shield 2022/23: Schedule and full fixtures

3-6 October 2022: Western Australia v New South Wales; WACA Ground, Perth
6-9 October 2022: Queensland v Tasmania; Allan Border Field, Brisbane
6-9 October 2022: South Australia v Victoria; Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
16-19 October 2022: South Australia v Tasmania; Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
17-20 October 2022: Victoria v Western Australia; CitiPower Centre, St Kilda
18-21 October 2022: New South Wales v Queensland; Drummoyne Oval, Drummoyne
29 October-1 November 2022: Tasmania v Victoria; Blundstone Arena, Hobart
31 October-3 November 2022: New South Wales v South Australia; North Dalton Park, Wollongong
31 October-3 November 2022: Western Australia v Queensland; WACA Ground, Perth
10-13 November 2022: Queensland v Victoria; Allan Border Field, Brisbane
11-14 November 2022: Western Australia v South Australia; WACA Ground, Perth
12-15 November 2022: Tasmania v New South Wales; Blundstone Arena, Hobart
20-23 November 2022: South Australia v Queensland; Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
22-25 November 2022: New South Wales v Western Australia; Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
24-27 November 2022: Victoria v Tasmania; Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1-4 December 2022: Victoria v New South Wales; CitiPower Centre, St Kilda
1-4 December 2022: Tasmania v South Australia; Blundstone Arena, Hobart
1-4 December 2022: Queensland v Western Australia; The Gabba, Brisbane
9-12 February 2023: Victoria v Queensland; Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
10-13 February 2023: South Australia v Western Australia; Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
11-14 February 2023: New South Wales v Tasmania; Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
20-23 February 2023: Victoria v South Australia; CitiPower Centre, St Kilda
21-24 February 2023: Tasmania v Western Australia; Blundstone Arena, Hobart
21-24 February 2023: Queensland v New South Wales; The Gabba, Brisbane
2-5 March 2023: New South Wales v Victoria; Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
2-5 March 2023: Queensland v South Australia; The Gabba, Brisbane
2-5 March 2023: Western Australia v Tasmania; WACA Ground, Perth
14-17 March 2023: Tasmania v Queensland; Blundstone Arena, Hobart
14-17 March 2023: South Australia v New South Wales; Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
14-17 March 2023: Western Australia v Victoria; WACA Ground, Perth
23-26 March 2023: TBC v TBC; TBC

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99