The independent voice of cricket

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy 2022 – All you need to know: Schedule, format, groups, qualification and venues

Ranji Trophy 2022
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

After a long wait, Ranji Trophy will return with the 2022 edition being played in a revised format featuring two legs – here’s all you need to know about India‘s first-class tournament, from start date, schedule, teams and venues to format, groups and qualification details.

Ranji Trophy 2022: Format


A total of 64 matches will be played across 62 days, with 38 teams participating in two phases (pre and post IPL 2022). 38 teams have been divided into eight Elite Groups and one Plate Group, with four teams per Elite Group and six teams in Plate Group.

Elite teams play against each other, whereas Plate teams play against three teams from the group.

Quarter-final qualification

One team from each Elite Group will qualify for the quarter-final, barring the lowest-ranked of the eight qualified teams, which will play a pre-quarterfinal with the top team from the Plate group.

The draws for the quarter-final will be carried out after the pre-quarter-final match.

Ranji Trophy 2022: Groups

Elite A: Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya; Venue: Rajkot

Elite B: Bengal, Baroda, Hyderabad, Chandigarh; Venue: Cuttack

Elite C: Karnataka, Railways, Jammu & Kasmir, Pondicherry; Venue: Chennai

Elite D: Saurashtra, Mumbai, Odisha, Goa; Venue: Ahmedabad

Elite E: Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Services, Uttarakhand; Venue: Trivandrum

Elite F: Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Tripura; Venue: Delhi

Elite G: Vidarbha, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Assam; Venue: Haryana

Elite H: Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Chattisgarh, Venue: Guwahati

Plate: Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal Prades; Venue: Kolkata

Ranji Trophy 2022: Venues


Narendra Modi Stadium, Narendra Modi Stadium-2, Gujarat College Ground


Eden Gardens, Bengal Cricket Academy (Kalyani), Videocon Academy Ground, Jadavpur University Campus 2nd ground


SCA Stadium, SCA Stadium Khanderi B Ground, Madhavrao Scindia Ground


Ch. Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium (Rohtak), Gurugram Cricket Ground


Arun Jaitely Stadium, Roshanara Club Ground


Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Judges Field, NFRSA Ground


Barabati, KIIT (Bhubaneshwar), Vikas Cricket Ground (Bhubaneshwar), DRIEMS Ground


St Xaviers’ KCA Cricket Ground, Greenfield Stadium, KCA Stadium (Mangalapuram)


MA Chidambaram Stadium, IIT Chemplast, IC-Gurunanak College Ground

Ranji Trophy 2022: Schedule

There will be three league matches per team. The pre-IPL phase begins on February 10, two days before the start of the IPL 2022 auction.

First leg (Pre- IPL 2022): February 10, 2022, to March 15, 2022 (34 days, 57 matches)

Second leg (Post- IPL 2022): May 30, 2022, to June 26, 2022 (28 days, 7 matches)

The full list of fixtures will be updated once available. Updated till February 3, 2022.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99