The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan v New Zealand 2024

PAK vs NZ T20I squads: Full team list and injury updates for Pakistan v New Zealand 2024

Babar Azam of Pakistan bats during game three of the T20 International series between New Zealand and Pakistan at University of Otago Oval on January 17, 2024 in Dunedin, New Zealand.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Pakistan will host New Zealand for a five-match T20I series from April 18. Here are the PAK vs NZ T20I 2024 squads, including the full team lists and injury updates.

The first three matches will be held at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on April 18, 20 and 21, followed by the fourth and fifth T20Is in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on April 25 and 27, respectively.

Pakistan have named a 17-member squad led by Babar Azam, who is back at the helm as their captain in the white-ball formats. The series also marks the comeback of Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, who both unretired from international cricket to make themselves available for selection in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

UAE-based cricketer Usman Khan, who recently shifted his allegiance to Pakistan and was subsequently banned by the Emirates Cricket Board, has earned his maiden Pakistan call-up.

Apart from him, uncapped Muhammad Irfan Khan Niazi, the Emerging Player of PSL 2024, has also been named in the squad for the first time. Haris Rauf is still recovering from a shoulder injury and is unavailable for the series.

Meanwhile, New Zealand have sprung a surprise by naming experienced all-rounder Michael Bracewell as their captain for the series. Bracewell has been out of action from international cricket since March 2023 due to a ruptured Achilles and finger injury.

The tourists will be without their several regular players, including the likes of Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryll Mitchell, Glenn Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra and Kane Williamson, all missing due to their commitments to the IPL.

Will O’Rourke, who impressed on his Test debut against Australia recently, has been rewarded with his maiden T20I berth. Uncapped hard-hitting batter Tim Robinson is also in line to make his T20I debut following his exploits in domestic cricket in New Zealand.

PAK vs NZ T20I 2024 squads: Full team lists for Pakistan v New Zealand T20Is


Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan.

Non-travelling reserves: Haseebullah Khan, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Sahibzada Farhan, Salman Ali Agha.

New Zealand

Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99