The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan v New Zealand 2024

Explained: Why New Zealand are missing 13 players for their T20I tour of Pakistan

Why NZ missing players for PAK tour
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

New Zealand have named a second-string squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series in Pakistan with almost all their first-choice players missing.

New Zealand will tour Pakistan to play five T20Is between April 18 and 27, for which they recently announced their squad. In a surprise move, New Zealand have named Michael Bracewell as the captain of the 15-member squad.

The group also includes Tim Robinson, who’s earned his maiden international call-up, and Will O’Rourke, who is yet to play T20Is. As far as the first-choice players are concerned, as many as 13 of them have been left out for various reasons.

Where are New Zealand’s first-choice players?

Regular T20I skipper Kane Williamson (GT), along with seven other first-choice T20I players for New Zealand are currently busy in the IPL. These players include Rachin Ravindra (CSK), Mitchell Santner (CSK), Trent Boult (RR), Daryl Mitchell (CSK), Matt Henry (LSG), Glenn Phillips (SRH), and Lockie Ferguson (RCB). Opener Devon Conway is also with CSK, but he’s also currently recovering from an injury.

Tom Latham, meanwhile, is unavailable as he is awaiting the birth of his second child. Will Young has a county contract with Nottinghamshire, while Tim Southee has been rested. Colin Munro is also unavailable due to a planned break.

What does the squad look like?

Despite the absence of several key players, the 15-member squad still boasts of experienced T20 players like Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, and Adam Milne.

Bracewell will be making his international captaincy debut after returning from an injury which has kept him out of action for a year. “He’s a well-respected leader and has captaincy experience for Wellington along with New Zealand A and New Zealand XI teams, which we believe holds him in good stead to lead the group in Pakistan,” selector Sam Wells said.

Newcomer Robinson has made his way through after impressing in the Super Smash where he ended up as the second-highest run-getter last season, while O’Rourke makes it on the back of an impressive Test debut against Australia earlier this year.

New Zealand T20I squad: Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99