The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan v England 2022

PAK v ENG 2022 Squad: Full T20I team lists and injury updates for Pakistan v England

The PAK v ENG T20I series will begin on September 20
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

England will play a seven-match T20I series against Pakistan beginning on September 20 – here is the full squad list for PAK v ENG 2022, including team news and injury updates.

England, who failed to win a T20I series at home this summer, would be looking for some sort of redemption when they travel to Pakistan. Jos Buttler has been named captain of the side, although he is not expected to feature at the start of the series. In his stead, Moeen Ali will assume captaincy duties. Jofra Archer and Jonny Bairstow miss out due to long-term injuries, with Jason Roy also being dropped from the side. However, there is a recall for Alex Hales, who last played international cricket in 2019.

The experienced trio of Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood also return. Stokes has not played a T20I since March 2021 but has been in fine form in Test cricket. Woakes and Wood have had to overcome injury concerns. However, this seven-match series gives them the chance to get into the groove. There are also call-ups for Ben Duckett, Luke Wood, Olly Stone, Tom Helm and Will Jacks.


Pakistan, meanwhile, have also selected a full-strength side as they prepare for the T20 World Cup. Babar Azam will be at the helm, with Asif Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah and Shadab Khan all featuring. Shaheen Shah Afridi is not part of the squad as he continues his rehabilitation from a knee injury. Mohammad Wasim Jnr, though, who missed the Asia Cup, finds a place in the side. Fakhar Zaman has also not been named as he undergoes treatment for a knee injury.

PAK v ENG, 2022 T20I series: Full squad and team list

England: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali (vice-captain), Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Alex Hales, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Haider Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Aamer Jamal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Haris, Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir, Abrar Ahmed

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99