The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan v England 2022/23

Watch: Moments after controversial reprieve, Ben Duckett is given lbw on review to mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed

Ben Duckett survived a contentious lbw call in the 19th over, but was in the same over by Abrar Ahmed
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Ben Duckett was given out lbw in the same over after he survived a contentious lbw call against Abrar Ahmed.

On the sixth ball of the 19th over, Duckett, trying to dominate Abrar, brought out the sweep. The ball seemed to pitch outside leg and struck the front pad after Duckett missed his stroke. Umpire Aleem Dar, too, felt the ball had pitched outside leg stump and had given it not out.

Replays, however, showed that the ball had pitched in line. Ball tracking then confirmed that the ball would have crashed into the stumps. Interestingly enough, Pakistan were initially unsure of their appeal and opted for the DRS only when three seconds were left. Thankfully for them, their decision was vindicated.


That was not the only bit of action in the 19th over either. On the first ball of the over, Duckett unfurled the reverse sweep. Unfortunately for him, he picked a very full delivery and played all over it. The ball struck him on the pads in front of off stump and umpire Dar had no hesitation in giving it out.

Replays, though, showed that the ball had perhaps just grazed the glove before hitting the pads, meaning that the umpire had to overturn his decision, much to his displeasure. Duckett survived that particular decision but as it turned out, his joy was short-lived.

Watch Duckett’s dismissal here:


Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99