The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan Super League

PSL 2020 squad lists – who got picked up in the Pakistan Super League draft?

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The PSL 2020 Draft on Saturday, December 6 lasted approximately five hours, during the course of which several high-profile players found places in squads for the fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League, starting in February.

The most fuss was, naturally, surrounding the players in the Platinum category. Jason Roy was picked up by defending champions Quetta Gladiators, while Lahore Qalandars opted for the big-hitting Chris Lynn. Dale Steyn and Colin Ingram were snapped up by Islamabad United, Alex Hales by Karachi Kings, and Multan Sultans had the duo of Moeen Ali and Rileee Rossouw.

Players in other categories (Diamond, Gold, Silver and Emerging) were then picked up, and by the conclusion of the PSL 2020 Draft, most of the teams had their 18-member squads ready, and it wasn’t difficult to imagine what their XIs might be.

Here is how the six PSL 2020 teams stack up:

Islamabad United squad

PSL Draft 2020

Shadab Khan will be one of the leading stars of Islamabad United

Domestic players: Shadab Khan, Amad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Muhammad Musa, Rizwan Hussain, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Akif Javed, Saif Badar, Ahmed Safi Abdullah

Overseas players: Luke Ronchi, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Phil Salt, Rassie van der Dussen

Karachi Kings squad

Domestic players: Imad Wasim (c), Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Aamer Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Umaid Asif, Awais Zia, Arshad Iqbal

Overseas players: Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Cameron Delport, Ali Khan, Dan Lawrence, Liam Plunkett

Multan Sultans squad

PSL Draft 2020

The veteran Shahid Afridi continues to hold his own at Multan Sultans

Domestic players: Shahid Afridi (c), Ali Shafiq, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Ilyas, Junaid Khan, Shan Masood, Zeeshan Ashraf,  Sohail Tanvir, Rohail Nazir, Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir, Bilawal Bhatti

Overseas players: James Vince, Moeen Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Ravi Bopara, Imran Tahir, Fabian Allen

Lahore Qalandars squad

Domestic players: Sohail Akhtar (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Shaheen Afridi,  Haris Rauf, Salman Butt, Usman Shinwari, Fakhar Zaman, Jaahid Ali, Raja Farzan, Faizan Khan, Dilbar Hussain

Overseas players: David Wiese, Chris Lynn, Samit Patel, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ben Dunk, Lendl Simmons

Quetta Gladiators squad

Quetta Gladiators have added the might of Jason Roy in a bid to retain the title

Quetta Gladiators have added the might of Jason Roy in a bid to retain the title

Domestic players: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Ahsan Ali,  Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Umar Akmal, Abdul Nasir, Sohail Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Aarish Ali, Azam Khan

Overseas players: Ben Cutting, Jason Roy, Fawad Ahmed, Tymal Mills, Shane Watson, Keemo Paul

Peshawar Zalmi squad

Darren Sammy is once again set to lead Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2020

Darren Sammy is once again set to lead Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2020

Domestic players: Hasan Ali, Kamran Akmal, Umar Amin, Imam-ul-Haq,  Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Adil Amin, Haider Ali, Mohammad Amir Khan, Aamir Ali

Overseas players: Darren Sammy (c), Liam Dawson, Dwaine Pretorius, Liam Livingstone, Kieron Pollard, Tom Banton

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99