The independent voice of cricket

New Zealand v Sri Lanka 2022/23

New Zealand v Sri Lanka 2023 Test squads: Full team lists for NZ vs SL

Tim Southee tries to take a catch as Dimuth Karunaratne looks, Day 1, first Test match, New Zealand v Sri Lanka, 2018/19
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

New Zealand will host Sri Lanka for two Test matches, in Christchurch and Wellington, in March 2023. Here is the NZ vs SL squad for both teams.

Between March 9 and April 8 2023, New Zealand will host Sri Lanka for two Test matches, three ODIs, and three T20Is. While Australia have qualified for the World Test Championship 2021-23 final, a 2-0 win will give Sri Lanka a chance to qualify over India.

At Wellington against England, New Zealand recently became the fourth team in history to win a Test match after following on, as well as the second team to win by a solitary run. The win also helped them to level the series, but they are not in contention for a place in the WTC final.


These will be Sri Lanka’s first Tests since July 2022; first overseas matches since May 2022; and the first outside Asia since their West Indies tour of 2020/21. Across seven tours of New Zealand, Sri Lanka have won two Test matches (in 1994/95 and 2005/06) and lost 11.

Sri Lanka will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne, and will feature senior cricketers like Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, and Dinesh Chandimal, as well as last summer’s spin sensation Prabath Jayasuriya.

New Zealand, on the other hand, are the favourites on paper. In Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, and Tom Blundell, they have a formidable batting line-up, while captain Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, and Matt Henry form a strong pace attack.

NZ vs SL squad: Full team lists for New Zealand v Sri Lanka 2023

New Zealand: Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Tom Latham (wk), Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson, Neil Wagner, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Michael Bracewell, Matt Henry, Blair Tickner, Scott Kuggeleijn.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Niroshan Dickewella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Nishan Madushka (wk), Kusal Mendis (wk), Asitha Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kasun Rajitha, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Vishwa Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Karunaratne, Prabath Jayasuriya, Oshada Fernando.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99