Watch: Bangladesh had a day to remember against New Zealand but they weren’t at their best in the DRS department.
In the 37th over of the New Zealand second innings, Mominul Haque took a review for an LBW appeal against the soon-to-retire Ross Taylor, which the on-field umpire immediately turned down. Replays showed that the ball would’ve crashed the off-stump but happened to miss the batter’s pads by some margin. It had, in fact, been successfully fended off with the bat.
The Bangladesh team, however, decided to take the matter upstairs, asking for a review. Slow-motion replays confirmed that the ball was nowhere near the front pad, having been cleanly punched away by the batter. The incident was so obvious on replays that the commentators couldn’t contain themselves and broke out in laughter.
You can watch the incident here:
— Eddie Summerfield (@eddiesummers) January 4, 2022