The independent voice of cricket

New Zealand v Bangladesh

Watch: Jamieson return catch overturned after not being ‘fully in control’

Jamieson catch
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Watch: A return catch by New Zealand all-rounder Kyle Jamieson against Bangladesh was deemed not out by the third umpire after the bowler was found to not be “fully in control” while completing the dismissal.

The incident took place in the 15th over of the second New Zealand-Bangladesh ODI. Opener Tamim, on 34, drove back a full-length delivery from Jamieson back to the bowler, who dived forwards to grab the return.

While the catch itself was clean, the follow-through saw his momentum take him further forward and seemingly graze the ball on the ground while completing the dismissal.

The on-field umpires asked Tamim to wait while they consulted the third umpire, Wayne Knights, to check the legality of the catch, giving the soft signal as ‘out’.

Further replays suggested that Jamieson, clutching the ball in his right hand after the catch, had pressed it against the grass in his follow-through. Knights was heard on-air saying the player was “not fully in control” of the catch, referring to law 33.3, which states that the action of a catch will end when “when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement.”

When the ‘not out’ signal beamed on the screen, Jamieson was visibly surprised. Given the subjectivity that can arise from the concept of being ‘in complete control’ or not, the decision split opinion on social media.

Tamim Iqbal, then on 34, went on to make 78, helping Bangladesh post 271-6.

Watch the catch here and choose which side you’re on:

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99