The independent voice of cricket

Ireland vs South Africa

IRE vs SA 2022 squads: Full team list and injury updates for Ireland v South Africa T20I series

The Ireland v South Africa series will begin on Wednesday at Bristol
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

South Africa will lock horns with Ireland in a two-match T20I series beginning on August 3 – here’s the full squads and team list for IRE vs SA 2022, including player replacements and injury updates.

South Africa, who recently got the better of England in the shortest format, would be hoping to continue their form against Ireland. Both matches are slated to be played at Bristol, with the series starting on Wednesday.

The Proteas have retained the core group of players that featured against England. David Miller will continue leading the side in Temba Bavuma’s absence. Reeza Hendricks and Rilee Rossouw would also be looking to solidify their places at the top of the order. Quinton de Kock, on the other hand, would want to regain some form after an indifferent outing. Rassie van der Dussen didn’t play during that rubber and it would be interesting to see if he features. Tristan Stubbs would also be hoping to build on his promising performances against England.


However, South Africa will have to contend with Kagiso Rabada’s absence. The pacer, who is nursing an ankle injury, has been ruled out of the T20I series. The Proteas would hope that he can regain full fitness before their Test series against England.

Ireland, meanwhile, would be hoping to build on their encouraging displays this summer. They didn’t win a T20I against India and New Zealand but showed that they could compete on their day. Ireland might face a stiffer challenge against the Proteas, considering they are at full strength. However, with skipper Andy Balbirnie, Harry Tector and Paul Stirling around, they would back themselves to cause a flutter.

Ireland v South Africa T20I 2022: Full team list and squads

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (capt), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young

South Africa: David Miller (capt), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99