The independent voice of cricket

Irani Cup 2022/23

Irani Cup 2022 squad: Full team lists for Saurashtra v Rest of India

The Irani Cup 2022 squad sees several India players on both sides
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The Irani Cup will return after a two-year break with a Saurashtra squad taking on the Rest of India side at Rajkot beginning October 1. Here are the complete squads, including full team lists for the Irani Cup.

This particular match-up was first scheduled for 2020, the year in which Saurashtra won the Ranji Trophy title. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic wreaked havoc with the schedule. In the meantime, Madhya Pradesh have won the most recent edition of the Ranji Trophy. The BCCI, though, have decided that Saurashtra must be given their due as well.

The Ranji Trophy champions have picked 10 of the 15 players that were part of their success two years ago. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has been in a rich vein of form lately, is part of the squad. Chetan Sakariya and Jaydev Unadkat offer plenty of wicket-taking nous, with Chirag Jani and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja also expected to play a crucial role.


The Rest of India side, meanwhile, features India U-19 World Cup winning captain Yash Dhull. The youngster scored a century on each of his Ranji Trophy and Duleep Trophy debuts and will be looking to continue his stellar form. Abhimanyu Easwaran, Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal and Sarfaraz Khan are also part of the squad, which is to be led by Hanuma Vihari.

The Irani Cup will take place at Rajkot and will begin on October 1.

Irani Cup 2022 squads: Full team lists

Saurashtra: Jaydev Unadkat (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Prerak Mankad, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Parth Bhut, Snell Patel (wk), Harvik Desai, Vishvaraj Jadeja, Kamlesh Makvana, Kushang Patel, Kishan Parmar

Rest of India: Hanuma Vihari (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Yash Dhull, Sarfaraz Khan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, KS Bharat (wk), Upendra Yadav (wk), Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Mukesh Kumar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99