The independent voice of cricket

India v Sri Lanka

IND vs SL 2022 squad: Full team list for India v Sri Lanka T20I series

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

India face Sri Lanka for a three-match T20I series, which will be followed by two Tests at home from February 24 — here’s the full squad and team list for IND vs SL 2022.

Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant are the two big absentees from the India squad for the Sri Lanka T20Is that begin in Lucknow on February 24. In Pant’s place, Sanju Samson has been given a call-up, with Ishan Kishan as the other keeper in the squad. KL Rahul misses out once again as he is recuperating from an injury that also saw him miss the T20Is against West Indies.

The series is headlined by the return of Ravindra Jadeja, who has been missing in action since the Kanpur Test between India and New Zealand. Shardul Thakur has been given a break ahead of the Test series, while Jasprit Bumrah returns, and will be the vice-captain. Suryakumar Yadav and Deepak Chahar have been ruled out after late injuries.

The visitors, on the other hand, will miss Avishka Fernando, who is sidelined due to a knee injury. Ramesh Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Nuwan Thushara also miss out due to their respective injuries. Wanindu Hasaranga and Binura Fernando, who missed the recent T20I series in Australia after testing positive for Covid-19, have been included in the squad after undergoing seven-day isolation. However, Hasaranga’s second positive test is likely to rule him out of the entire series.

Dasun Shanaka will lead the Sri Lanka side, with Charith Asalanka as his deputy.

IND v SL: Full squad and team list for the 2022 T20I series

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

Update: Suryakumar Yadav and Deepak Chahar, initially in the squad, were ruled out after injuries (hairline fracture & right quadriceps injury respectively).

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel (Subjected to Ministerial approval)

Update: Wanindu Hasaranga is likely to miss the entire T20I series after testing positive for Covid-19 twice.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99