The independent voice of cricket

India v South Africa

Team selector: Pick your India XI to face South Africa

India South Africa T20I
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Team Selector: Pick your India XI to be led by KL Rahul for the five-match T20I series at home against South Africa, beginning June 9, 2022.

The series will mark India’s return to international cricket following a two-month-long IPL. However, not all first-choice players will be part of the series, with a few high-profile players, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah, all prepping for the Test in England beginning July.

The series presents an opportunity for new faces to prove their mettle, with Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh being handed call-ups after inspiring performances at the IPL. Beyond them, the bowling attack has a good mix of experience and youth; Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are all highly experienced, while Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan and Ravi Bishnoi bringing in new flair.

On the batting front, KL Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan are formidable opening options, with the middle order replete with enough firepower, bolstered by the return of Dinesh Karthik and the presence of Hardik Pandya.

India’s T20I squad: KL Rahul (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Pick your India XI here.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99