The independent voice of cricket

India v New Zealand

‘Completely missed a trick’ – Ashwin left frustrated after India decide against DRS for seemingly plumb LBW call

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

R Ashwin was left ruing his chances after the off-spinner’s LBW appeal was turned down by the on-field umpires despite replays suggesting ‘three reds’ in the ball-tracking system. With skipper Ajinkya Rahane not opting for the DRS either, India missed out on getting the wicket of Tom Latham, New Zealand’s top-scorer, earlier in the day.

R Ashwin, who dismissed Will Young during the first hour of play on day three, was unlucky to miss out on Latham’s wicket after the on-field umpire turned down his appeal for LBW. The fourth ball of the 73rd over spun square before hitting the opener on the pads in front of the off stump. The bowler went up in appeal as did the India fielders, but it was turned down by umpire Nitin Menon. A long discussion ensued as India contemplated going up for a DRS, but skipper Ajinkya Rahane decided against going upstairs despite having two reviews left, possibly because of the turn, and the fact that Mayank Agarwal seemingly indicated that there could have been bat involved.

The ball tracking eventually showed ‘three reds’ (and no bat), and the frustration was writ large on Ashwin’s face, with replay showing he was kicking the grass after seeing the big screen.

The on-air commentators believed India had “missed a trick” by not reviewing. “Look at this! India have missed a trick here. Missed a trick completely. Red, red, red (on the ball tracking)”, exclaimed Simon Doull.

“Ashwin was pleading. Surprised they didn’t go up for the review. They had two reviews left. It was mighty close. Even if it was the umpire’s call, they would have retained their review,” stated Laxman Sivaramakrishnan.

“Initially I thought it was always out or umpire’s call. I don’t see how India could have ever lost that review. It looked like a great shout, and they must have thought it was turning too much,” Doull continued.

Speaking about the incident after the lunch break, Murali Kartik went on to elaborate on why the DRS could not have been taken. “If you see the wicketkeeper goes up in appeal immediately and asks for a review. But Mayank Agarwal indicates it was bat, and Rahane goes with that.”

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99