‘He clearly didn’t hit it’ – Dawid Malan benefits from generous third umpire reprieve against Bangladesh
Dawid Malan was the beneficiary of a moment of fortune early on in his innings in England’s third and final T20I against Bangladesh today (Match 14) at Dhaka.
On a truer pitch than what was used in the second T20I of the series, also held at Dhaka, Malan expertly guided England through the bulk of the run chase but only after perhaps getting away with a fortunate reprieve at the start of his innings.
Malan, on six, was trapped lbw off the first legal ball of Taskin Ahmed’s first over, the second of the England innings. After deliberating with his captain Jos Buttler at the other end, Malan eventually sent the decision upstairs for a review.
Third umpire Gazi Sohel took his time to ascertain whether or not the ball skimmed Malan’s inside edge before it thudded into his pads. A clear spike appeared on Ultra Edge but only after the frame had the ball as past Malan’s bat; the previous frame had a flat line on Ultra Edge but the ball had potentially not yet reached the bat. It could be argued that no frame showed the ball at the instant it passed the bat.
According to the ICC men’s T20I playing conditions, the third umpire must be able to decide “with a high degree of confidence” that the on-field decision should be overturned, and if they are unable to offer that level of confidence, they should not overturn the on-field decision.
Nasser Hussain on Sky Sports’ coverage of the game remarked that he thought that Malan had “been saved by the third umpire.” Jonny Singer, an MCC Laws of Cricket advisor, tweeted: “Suspect it was going down. But can’t believe he’s been given not out for hitting it, when he clearly didn’t hit it!.”
Suspect it was going down. But can’t believe he’s been given not out for hitting it, when he clearly didn’t hit it! https://t.co/AfiDa6eC73
— Jonny Singer (@Jonny_Singer) March 14, 2023
Sorry… bat first?!? Dawid Malan you lucky man!
— Melissa Story (@melissagstory) March 14, 2023