The independent voice of cricket

England v West Indies

West Indies announce 25-man group for England Test series

West Indies england
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

West Indies have announced a 25-man group for their upcoming tour to England.

The group has been split up into a 14-man squad and an 11-man list of reserves who will all make the trip to the UK in early June. The squad includes two players uncapped at Test level, Chemar Holder – a 22-year old fast bowler with no relation to Test skipper Jason – and Nkrumah Bonner, a 31-year-old all-rounder who has made two T20I appearances, one in England in 2011 and one at home to Australia in 2012. As reported earlier, Keemo Paul, Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer have all opted not to take part in the tour.

Commenting on the squad, Cricket West Indies lead selector, Roger Harper, said: “I think we have a squad that will be very competitive. More than half of the squad were involved in the victorious Test series against England in the Caribbean last year so they will bring that experience, that knowledge and belief with them and marry it to the enthusiasm and vitality of the newcomers.

“The experience of the players who toured England before in 2017 will also benefit the squad greatly. I expect that the bowling unit will once again provide a serious challenge for England and our batting will have to deliver. England is a tough team when playing in home conditions, however, I think the West Indies has a good chance of retaining the Wisden Trophy. We will have to bat consistently well to do so.

“Chemar Holder is an exciting young fast bowling talent who is coming off an excellent domestic first-class season. He should enjoy bowling in English conditions. He could prove a real asset to the team in England. Nkrumah Bonner is an unflappable character. His ability to hold the innings together and bat through tight situations could serve the team very well.”

Pending approval from the UK government, the first Test of the series is set to take place behind closed doors at the Ageas Bowl on July 8.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer and Kemar Roach.

Reserve list: Sunil Ambris, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas and Jomel Warrican.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99