The independent voice of cricket

England v Ireland 2023

England v Ireland 2023, Test squad: Full team list, injury news and replacement updates | ENG vs IRE

Rory Burns receives the first ball of England v Ireland Lord's 2019 Test, from Tim Murtagh
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Here are the England and Ireland Test squad for the standalone four-day Test match, which starts at Lord’s from June 1, 2023.

England and Ireland will play a Test match at Lord’s from June 1 to 4, 2023. Ireland have been playing Test cricket since May 11, 2018, but this will be only their seventh Test (they have lost all six). However, they played three Tests this April – one at Mirpur, two at Galle.

Ireland’s third Test match – their last before April 2023 – was against England at Lord’s in 2019. On that occasion, Tim Murtagh (5-13) shot out England for 85 before Ireland took a 122-run lead. Riding on opener Jack Leach’s 92 and Jason Roy’s 72, England eventually set a gettable 182, but Stuart Broad (4-19) and Chris Woakes (6-17) shot out Ireland for 38 in 15.4 overs.


England are coming off a run of 10 wins in 12 Tests, a remarkable turnaround from a streak where they won a solitary Test match out of 18.

Under new captain Ben Stokes and new coach Brendon McCullum, their batters have scored at an incredible 4.76 an over, which has given their bowlers ample time to take all 20 wickets, which they have done in 11 out of these 12 Test matches.

The England selectors caused a stir by leaving out Ben Foakes for the returning Jonny Bairstow as well as for retaining the out-of-form Zak Crawley. They have also retained James Anderson and Ollie Robinson despite presumably not-too-serious injury concerns. They have also drafted in Josh Tongue as cover.

Ireland, meanwhile, will be without seamer Conor Olphert.

England v Ireland 2023, Test squad: Full team list, injury news and replacement updates | ENG vs IRE

England: Ben Stokes (c), Ollie Pope (vc & wk), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Joe Root, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Jack Leach, Zak Crawley, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Josh Tongue.

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (c), Peter Moor (wk), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Paul Stirling, Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Craig Young, James McCollum, Matthew Foster, Thomas Mayes.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99