The independent voice of cricket

Cricket World Cup 2023

David Warner fumes at Joel Wilson lbw decision after DRS upholds marginal appeal

David Warner review
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

David Warner was left fuming at umpire Joel Wilson’s lbw call after the latter’s decision was upheld despite Warner using the DRS towards the start of Australia’s run-chase against Sri Lanka at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow today (October 16).

Chasing a small score of 210, Australia started rapidly, scoring 15 run in the first over of their innings. Warner looked in particularly punishing mode as he smashed a four and a six off Lahiru Kumara in the very first over.

At the end of three overs, Australia were 24-0, and would have had one eye set on Net Run Rate, aiming to finish off the chase quickly. Their party, however, was crashed by left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka.


On the first ball of the fourth over of the innings, Madushanka banged one into the pitch from over the wicket. The ball didn’t rise as much as Warner expected. He tried to adjust and keep the ball out while being on his toes, but couldn’t get bat to ball and was struck on the pads.

To the naked eye, it looked like the ball might slide down the leg side, but umpire Wilson raised his finger following an intense appeal by the Sri Lankans. Warner was quick to go up in review and seemed confident that the decision would be overturned.

David Warner review DRS

David Warner was not happy with umpire Joel Wilson for his lbw call

The ball tracking, however, showed that the delivery would have clipped the leg stump, meaning it was ‘Umpire’s call’ on review. Wilson’s decision was upheld and Warner was consequently given out, much to his frustration. He let out an immediate roar of anguish directed. As he was walking back to the pavilion, Warner was seen angrily mouthing something along the way.

Had Wilson given it ‘not out’ on the field, Warner would have been saved even if Sri Lanka had gone up for a review. Should it be decided that Warner’s reaction amounted to “excessive, obvious disappointment with an umpire’s decision,” then he could be in line for a penalty under the ICC’s Code of Conduct.

Five balls later, Madushanka dismissed Steve Smith as well, bringing the ball back in to him and trapping him in front to give Sri Lanka their second wicket of the innings. At the end of 12 overs, Australia’s score read 75-2, with the game still in the balance.

To bet on the World Cup with our Match Centre Partners bet365 head here.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99