The independent voice of cricket

County Championship 2024

County cricket 2024: List of overseas players in County Championship 2024

Dean Elgar announces Test retirement
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The 2024 County Championship 2024 will be played from April 5 to September 29. Here is the list of overseas players in the County Championship 2024.

The 124th edition of the County Championship, in 2024, will get underway from April 5. The eighteen teams across the two Divisions have signed up their cricketers, including their overseas contingent, not all of whom will play the full summer.

Three Australians – Will Pucovski of Leicestershire, Will Sutherland of Somerset, and Aaron Hardie of Surrey – have been ruled out of the 2024 County Championship.

County cricket 2024: List of overseas players in County Championship 2024

Derbyshire: Blair Tickner (New Zealand, April – July 4)
Durham: David Bedingham (South Africa), Scott Boland (Australia, April – July)
Essex: Dean Elgar (South Africa), Simon Harmer (South Africa)
Glamorgan: Mir Hamza (Pakistan, seven matches, April – May), Colin Ingram (South Africa), Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
Gloucestershire: Cameron Bancroft (Australia), Zafar Gohar (Pakistan), Beau Webster (Australia, June – July)
Hampshire: Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan), Kyle Abbott (South Africa), Michael Neser (Australia, June)
Kent: Wes Agar (Australia, April – July), Xavier Bartlett (Australia, April – July)
Lancashire: Tom Bruce (New Zealand), Nathan Lyon (Australia, seven matches, April – July)
Leicestershire: Peter Handscomb (Australia), Wiaan Mulder (South Africa, from May), Marcus Harris (Australia, five matches, April – May)
Middlesex: None
Northamptonshire: Karun Nair (India, seven matches, April – May), Prithvi Shaw (India, from June), Chris Tremain (Australia, four matches, April)
Nottinghamshire: Dane Paterson (South Africa), Will Young (New Zealand, April – July)
Somerset: Matt Renshaw (Australia, seven matches, April – May)
Surrey: Sean Abbott (Australia, May – June), Kemar Roach (West Indies, seven matches, April – May)
Sussex: Daniel Hughes (Australia, June – September), Nathan McAndrew (Australia, June – July), Cheteshwar Pujara (India, seven matches, April – May), Jayden Seales (West Indies, April – June 8), Jaydev Unadkat (India, five matches, August – September)
Warwickshire: Hassan Ali (Pakistan, April – July)
Worcestershire: Yadvinder Singh (India), Nathan Smith (New Zealand), Jason Holder (West Indies, five matches, April – May)
Yorkshire: Shan Masood (Pakistan)

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99